[SOLVED] OC 2133 to 2666

raywestnit

Honorable
Jul 4, 2018
Greetings, so basically I'm new to ram overclocking and just wanted to some questions before I do so,

I was wondering how does one overclock 2133mhz to 2666mhz, is it even hard to do it, and are there some things I should know before I do so
is there like an auto overclock feature on my motherboard? (not like xmp/docp)

Answers are very much appreciated

CPU: Ryzen 5 3600
RAM: 16gb 2x8 2133 mhz ddr4
Motherboard MSI b450M Mortar Max

Solution
Greetings, so basically I'm new to ram overclocking and just wanted to some questions before I do so,

I was wondering how does one overclock 2133mhz to 2666mhz, is it even hard to do it, and are there some things I should know before I do so

https://www.corsair.com/corsairmedia/sys_master/productcontent/Ryzen3000_MemoryOverclockingGuide.pdf

That's a fairly aggressive overclock. RAM is aggressively binned, not designed to be run at specific clockspeeds. Basically, semiconductor fabrication doesn't involve truly identical chips, so...

DSzymborski

Curmudgeon Pursuivant

https://www.corsair.com/corsairmedia/sys_master/productcontent/Ryzen3000_MemoryOverclockingGuide.pdf

That's a fairly aggressive overclock. RAM is aggressively binned, not designed to be run at specific clockspeeds. Basically, semiconductor fabrication doesn't involve truly identical chips, so like CPUs, RAM sticks are generally simply sold at the speeds the sticks pass the tests at. Ram advertising 2133 MHz will be the cheapest, lowest quality RAM available, the lowest grade of what is suitable to even be sold. You may be able to overclock it somewhat -- extensive testing is necessary -- simply because companies want to be too careful on aggressively rating sticks lest they spend more on RMAs than they get from selling at higher ratings.

Solution
Up to 3200Mhz RAM you may have an extended memory profile such as XMP or D.O.C.P which can be selected within your Bios which is not hard to do.