Question PC bluescreens and sometimes crashes without BSOD

Page 3 - Seeking answers? Join the Tom's Hardware community: where nearly two million members share solutions and discuss the latest tech.
May 27, 2020
67
0
30
0
Hmm, didn't notice it crashing twice, but I did leave it AFK for some time, so it could have crashed there.

Should I try to update LAN drivers?

Oh yeah and Valorant - love that game
 

gardenman

Admirable
Moderator
I ran the dump file through the debugger and got the following information: https://jsfiddle.net/6brzkh58/show This link is for anyone wanting to help. You do not have to view it. It is safe to "run the fiddle" as the page asks.

File information:102920-35359-01.dmp (Oct 29 2020 - 14:51:07)
Bugcheck:IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL (A)
Probably caused by:memory_corruption (Process: System)
Uptime:0 Day(s), 21 Hour(s), 42 Min(s), and 11 Sec(s)

This information can be used by others to help you. Someone else will post with more information. Please wait for additional answers. Good luck.
 

Colif

Win 10 Master
Moderator
I then had 36 hours of rain/storms so I didn't get back right away.

Specs
CPU - Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard - B450 TOMAHAWK MAX
ram - 16gb CMK16GX4M2B3000C15
GPU - Radeon RX 5700 XT
Storage - Samsung ssd
Storage - Seagate HDD
Extra - Canon Printer, Logitech Webcam

have I asked what PSU you have?

Changes made - Swapped from ssd to another ssd, then to a hdd. Still crashes. But now its crashing with no bsod, so it has changed behaviour?
swapped GPU< still same problem

How many times did you run memtest?

ssd & hdd tested
 
May 27, 2020
67
0
30
0
have I asked what PSU you have?
I have a Corsair TX550M 550W PSU

Changes made - Swapped from ssd to another ssd, then to a hdd. Still crashes. But now its crashing with no bsod, so it has changed behaviour?
swapped GPU< still same problem
no, I have gotten 2 BSOD since
and with the CPU change it had the same problems

How many times did you run memtest?
I think I ran it twice a while back, I can run it again if needed
 

Colif

Win 10 Master
Moderator
PSU seems to be good enough.

memtest twice? its recommended to run it at least 4 times
Try running memtest86 on each of your ram sticks, one stick at a time, up to 4 passes. Only error count you want is 0, any higher could be cause of the BSOD. Remove/replace ram sticks with errors. Memtest is created as a bootable USB so that you don’t need windows to run it

we used to suggest 8 runs but the free version only allows 4 now.

CPU change?
 
May 27, 2020
67
0
30
0
memtest twice? its recommended to run it at least 4 times
Try running memtest86 on each of your ram sticks, one stick at a time, up to 4 passes. Only error count you want is 0, any higher could be cause of the BSOD. Remove/replace ram sticks with errors. Memtest is created as a bootable USB so that you don’t need windows to run it

we used to suggest 8 runs but the free version only allows 4 now.
I'll run memtest later overnight

CPU change?
Haven't tried using a different CPU, but i've used OCCT to stess-test it

Btw, here's my latest BSOD's: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1rjZJFLAVsM5QvAQ32CQRXptKidZzwaWR/view?usp=sharing
 

gardenman

Admirable
Moderator
I ran the dump files through the debugger and got the following information: https://jsfiddle.net/82euf0cs/show This link is for anyone wanting to help. You do not have to view it. It is safe to "run the fiddle" as the page asks.
File information:103120-34703-01.dmp (Oct 31 2020 - 16:38:20)
Bugcheck:IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL (A)
Probably caused by:memory_corruption (Process: System)
Uptime:1 Day(s), 0 Hour(s), 54 Min(s), and 10 Sec(s)

File information:103020-35640-01.dmp (Oct 30 2020 - 15:43:21)
Bugcheck:SYSTEM_SERVICE_EXCEPTION (3B)
Driver warnings:*** WARNING: Unable to verify timestamp for vgk.sys
Probably caused by:memory_corruption (Process: vgc.exe)
Uptime:0 Day(s), 0 Hour(s), 27 Min(s), and 09 Sec(s)

File information:103020-34546-01.dmp (Oct 30 2020 - 15:15:02)
Bugcheck:KMODE_EXCEPTION_NOT_HANDLED (1E)
Probably caused by:memory_corruption (Process: vgc.exe)
Uptime:0 Day(s), 2 Hour(s), 30 Min(s), and 12 Sec(s)
This information can be used by others to help you. Someone else will post with more information. Please wait for additional answers. Good luck.
 
May 27, 2020
67
0
30
0
I was wondering, since memtest takes a lot of time, if I could borrow some ram from my dad's pc and see if it crashed whilst using that ram?
 

gardenman

Admirable
Moderator
I ran the dump files through the debugger and got the following information: https://jsfiddle.net/c5sjfqxz/show This link is for anyone wanting to help. You do not have to view it. It is safe to "run the fiddle" as the page asks.
File information:110420-35281-01.dmp (Nov 4 2020 - 08:51:02)
Bugcheck:DRIVER_IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL (D1)
Probably caused by:memory_corruption (Process: dwm.exe)
Uptime:0 Day(s), 15 Hour(s), 22 Min(s), and 30 Sec(s)

File information:110420-32500-01.dmp (Nov 4 2020 - 13:37:46)
Bugcheck:SYSTEM_THREAD_EXCEPTION_NOT_HANDLED_M (1000007E)
Probably caused by:memory_corruption (Process: System)
Uptime:0 Day(s), 2 Hour(s), 25 Min(s), and 22 Sec(s)

File information:110420-32359-01.dmp (Nov 4 2020 - 09:28:46)
Bugcheck:KERNEL_SECURITY_CHECK_FAILURE (139)
Probably caused by:memory_corruption (Process: System)
Uptime:0 Day(s), 0 Hour(s), 36 Min(s), and 57 Sec(s)

File information:110320-34468-01.dmp (Nov 3 2020 - 13:14:15)
Bugcheck:KMODE_EXCEPTION_NOT_HANDLED (1E)
Driver warnings:*** WARNING: Unable to verify timestamp for vgk.sys
Probably caused by:memory_corruption (Process: System)
Uptime:0 Day(s), 2 Hour(s), 56 Min(s), and 54 Sec(s)

File information:110320-32375-01.dmp (Nov 3 2020 - 10:16:31)
Bugcheck:IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL (A)
Probably caused by:memory_corruption (Process: System)
Uptime:1 Day(s), 1 Hour(s), 31 Min(s), and 27 Sec(s)
This information can be used by others to help you. Someone else will post with more information. Please wait for additional answers. Good luck.
 

Colif

Win 10 Master
Moderator
Valorant, we meet again...

error 1 - GPU drivers; stack test shows dxgmms2!VidSchiInterlockedRemoveHeadListIfExist+0x5f which to my untrained eye looks like a video scheduler instruction. DirectX was a give away too.
error 2 - GPU drivers; ffff888d8a5a1828 fffff80082613523 dxgmms2!VidSchiStartContextRunningTimeAtISR+0x33
error 3: I don't know
error 4: Valorant
error 5: I don't know.

maybe try the optional upgrade here since its newer - https://www.amd.com/en/support/graphics/amd-radeon-5700-series/amd-radeon-rx-5700-series/amd-radeon-rx-5700-xt

Sorry the new ram wasn't the answer.
 

Colif

Win 10 Master
Moderator
so we tried 3 different storage drives, 2 different types of ram... 2 different GPU
what haven't we tested yet?

you have 3 problem devices, I doubt it will fix this but
I had the same issue. First install the latest chipset driver from AMD. Then go to Device Manager, right click on the device, choose Update Driver on the device, Browse my computer for driver software, choose this folder: c:\Program Files (x86)\AMD\Chipset_IODrivers\PSP Driver\
It fixed my missing driver for me, now it says: AMD PSP 11.0 Device, under Security devices.
https://community.amd.com/thread/243430

somethings odd, you keep having a program called bad_module_info crash. seems its an error that can happen in radeon drivers. its valorant

I don't think anyone has known this issue yet. If you attempt to launch VALORANT in Apollo Lake Processors, the game will crash silently without errors. However, the Event Viewer logs an error event that says "bad_module_info" but doesn't link VALORANT to it. But I have a workaround for it until the developers have fixed it.

  1. Create a file name "valorant.bat" (It doesn't need to be the same)
  2. Write this inside (Change the location if needed)
    cd C:\Riot Games\VALORANT\live\ShooterGame\Binaries\Win64
    set OPENSSL_ia32cap=:~0x20000000d cd "C:\Riot Games\Riot Client"
    RiotClientServices.exe --launch-product=valorant --launch-patchline=live
  3. Run it.
reddit link

wonders if people would keep playing the game if it zapped them every few seconds...
 
May 27, 2020
67
0
30
0
so we tried 3 different storage drives, 2 different types of ram... 2 different GPU
what haven't we tested yet?
Could my motherboard be faulty?
I've stresstested the CPU, but maybe it could be it?
PSU? - (don't think its this)

you have 3 problem devices, I doubt it will fix this but
https://community.amd.com/thread/243430

somethings odd, you keep having a program called bad_module_info crash. seems its an error that can happen in radeon drivers. its valorant

reddit link
should I try these things?
 

Colif

Win 10 Master
Moderator
Could my motherboard be faulty?
I've stresstested the CPU, but maybe it could be it?
PSU? - (don't think its this)
right now, it could be anything. Motherboard is impossible to test, only way you know for sure is put everything in PC right now on another board and if it works, it was the motherboard. Not exactly a cheap thing to do and why I try to test everything else first. Problem then could be if you testing them on the board, is the problem you seeing the board or the part. This is why repair stores are normally best idea as they should have spare PC there they can test parts in.

does valorant crash at all? the reddit link might help if it does.

the devices thing is up to you, I just noticed it when looking at your system info screens. Trying to see if I can find what I am missing.

I looked at PSU again and remembered I had already looked at it when i saw search results.
 
Last edited:
May 27, 2020
67
0
30
0
So I should increase my CPU voltage in bios? Could it be the cause of my crashes?
I'm thinking of sending my pc to a repair shop tomorrow.
 

ASK THE COMMUNITY

TRENDING THREADS