Question PC freezes and display turns off ?

Sep 12, 2022
Ryzen 7 5800x with Strix LC240 AIO
RTX 3070 OC
Strix B550-F
2x16 GB 3600MHz C18 Team Group Night Hawks
1TB Aorus Gen4 M.2 SSD
Seasonic Focus GX 650

Hey

So, I've been struggling with this issue for a very long time. I'm not an expert, so I probably haven't tried everything. It happens only while gaming or during Heaven benchmarking. Other than that I used the PC for Phtoshop and Illustrator that never bothered it, so I assume it has to be GPU related.

As described in the title, my PC freezes starting out by losing the display (no signal) and what comes after is basically random:
  • In the best case, it reboots automatically.
  • Other times, it keeps running and does nothing. RGB animation is broken and LEDs flash like a christmas tree.
  • Or the same occurs, but the animations go on as if everything was ok. Still no display or any response.
Everytime it does this, temps don't go higher than 85C at most, with around 60-70ish being the average for both CPU and GPU. If I leave it in this state, it goes on forever unless I hard reset it. Temps normalize to idle, but the fans run on high speeds as if they still had to cool down the components. I kept monitoring temps and usage in Armoury Crate and iCue during benchmarking. The former showed 98% (marked with red) load on the GPU everytime the freezes occurred. Tested both benchmarks and games in medium to high settings. Setting it lower seemed to extend the operating time. I can't tell for sure tho, since most of the time it seems very random. Sometimes it freezes right after clicking the 'benchmark' button in Heaven, and sometimes it takes 5-30 minutes, or even hours.