performance questions

lamer_gamer

Distinguished
Apr 28, 2001
I'm new to the graphic card world and have a couple of questions. First off I have an Elsa Gladiac GeForce 2 MX card. It's got 32Megs SDRAM. First of all, what is the screen rez stuff everyone talks about? I run at 600x800. But I see stuff here where people are running way higher resolutions, like in the 1000x1000 type range. Why? For me, it makes my desktop icons and everything else soooo small. And how does it affect frame rates in games? And do they really look better at higher rez's? And does "higher resolution" mean higher numbers(i.e.1000x1000) or does it mean lower numbers (i.e. 600x800). Also, what about color depth? My old card didn't support 32 bit. This one apparently does, but I haven't noticed any real difference when I run it in 32 bit. How does running at 32 bit affect frame rates? And last but not least; I paid less than $100 for this card. But it seems that to go to the next step up is gonna cost well over $200. Isn't there something in between, say the $150 range that comes from a reputable card manufacturer? Sorry for what I'm sure are <i>really</i> lame-ass questions, but other than just plain asking them, I don't know where to start learning. Thanks in advance!

My brain has performed an illegal operation and will be shut down

noko

Distinguished
Jan 22, 2001
The MX or nVidia 16 bit is pretty good compared to the Radeon's 16 bit which is pretty horrid at times. Well in 32bit you shouldn't see any banding of colors but smooth transitions. It is really a matter of preference, if you can enjoy 16 bit or 8 bit color and enjoy the game as much as I who wants 32bit, then power to you. Resolution is also a preference, I like higher resolutions because it makes the game more realistic if there is such a thing, less jaggies, more sharper. Other people could care less and worry more about the game play vice the candy on the walls. I guess I am a candy person.

G