i have achieved this oc with the voltage set to 1.360

currently running prime 95 for 2+ hours

and how are the temps??

plz suggest!

thanks in advance!

sid_nag17

Distinguished
Feb 23, 2009
i am using the ocz vendetta 2 with this cpu along with the general silicone paste that comes with it.

i am a noob at all this so if i use better thermal paste will the temp come down??

Yes, a couple of degrees. A standard for many users is Arctic silver 5. You may receive recommendations for other brands, but this has never failed me for many years.

I also lap my heatsinks, which I have found can shave off a couple of degrees as well. I cannot recommend lapping your CPU heatspreader as it will void your warranty, however I lap my processors as well.

As5 and lapping can increase cooling power by 5 C, in my experience. If interested in a max overclock, I say use any technique available to you to achieve the best results.

Shouldn't void the warranty.
You would remove any tim material from the base of the heatsink, and then sand it with increasingly fine grit sand paper until you produce a mirror-like shine. I start with about 400 grit and end up at about 2000 grit. Some people say to sand in one direction then sand 90 degrees but I typically sand in one direction.

I use a 6" square piece of glass for the higher grits, taping 1000 grit to one side and 1500 to the other to make the surface as flat as possible. Some folks use metal polish to bring it to a fine sheen, but the residue that remains needs to be removed as well. Before mounting I would clean the surface with a soft rag and some rubbing alcohol.

This usually takes me several hours to be able to shave in the surface. :) But it is worth it to me. So I guess you have to decide if lapping is worth a couple hours of work, not to mention removing your heatsink and reseating for a couple of degrees celcius.

ChodeManglerGTX285

Distinguished
Oct 26, 2009