Please help. Very odd fps issue

Nov 14, 2018
Howdy, friends!

This is my first post on the forum. I'll start of by saying that I'm by no means an expert in these matters and that's naturally the reason for me reaching out to you guys.

At the beginning of this year I built my own PC with the help of a work colleague. I wanted to have a nice setup that could play the latest games with 60 fps 1080p resolution. The entire computer with the monitor included cost the equivalent of about $1300 (I'm from Sweden). My specs are as follows:

Operating System
Windows 10 Home 64-bit
CPU
AMD Ryzen 5 1400 23 °C
14nm Technology
RAM
16,0GB Dual-Channel Unknown @ 1199MHz (15-17-17-35)
Motherboard
Gigabyte Technology Co. Ltd. AX370-Gaming K3 (AM4) 31 °C
Graphics
C24F390 (1920x1080@59Hz)
4096MB ATI Radeon RX 560 Series (ASUStek Computer Inc) 30 °C
Storage
1863GB Seagate ST2000DM006-2DM164 (SATA ) 32 °C
Audio
AMD High Definition Audio Device

The problem that haunts me is simply that my fps is laughable. Even on not-so-demanding games I can have 24 - 30 fps if I'm lucky, but usually it drops down to around 15 fps. It doesn't really help either to lower the settings. The strange thing however is that I can sometimes out of the blue get a frame rate of say 30 - 40, which under current conditions is a godsend. The latter mentioned rate sometimes appear directly after I've updated my graphic driver. Usually it's short-lived and I'm back to square one.

As I said previously, I'm far from an expert and I don't find it easy to troubleshoot. I did try to set the computer's power settings to high, which initially seemed to help a bit but not really anymore. I read a couple of threads here about low fps being connected to something called "CPU core parking". I downloaded the Coder Bag software but when I started the program everything was set to 100% and all CPU cores were activated. I don't know what that means exactly but it would seem to me that it's not the issue.