Question Push pull with different rpm fans

Jayant Arora

Distinguished
Mar 2, 2014
I have 3 x 2000 rpm fans
And 3 x1200 rpm fans can i use them together in push pull config, say 2000 rpm as push and 1200 as pull or vice versa ? Or it won't matter putting 1200 as pull rather just put 2000 as pull only ?
Will it going to put too much load on slower ones and burn them out,
I am No cooling expert It will be an
Experiment,pls suggest.

The faster fans, so long as they also have a higher overall CFM, MUST be on the back in the pull location. Otherwise their potential is not only wasted because they will be trying to push against the restriction of a slow fan that just becomes a blockage, but if they are not extremely high static pressure fans it might also tend to drastically shorten the life of the fan motor.

Fastest/highest CFM fans go on the backside as pull. Slower/higher static pressure fans go on the front as push. Doesn't matter whether that's for the case itself, or a heatsink, or a radiator.

Reactions: DMAN999

Encryption+

Upstanding
Sep 26, 2019
Yes as Darkbreeze mentioned above the RPMs of the fans are not as relavent as the CFM of the fans. There are plenty of instances where a higher RPM fan still has a lower CFM than a lower RPM fan. An example would be the two below both are 120mm fans, but the lower RPM fan still moves more air than the higher RPM fan.

5200 RPM fan with 240 CFM
6000 RPM fan with 210 CFM

How many fan vents does your case have? Some like my Phanteks have vents on the top as well, which could give you some more options.

Last edited:

Jayant Arora

Distinguished
Mar 2, 2014