Q6600 P5N-D help getting to 3.5 ghz

polorsport

Distinguished
Jun 10, 2007
Ok, so I still have a stock 2.4 ghz go stepping Q6600. In preparation for the evga 560 GTX ti I want to finally overclock this chip. I do however keep my pc on for days at a time, so I don't know if 3.5 ghz might be pushing it to far. Please advise me this is my setup. I'm a total noob so, I really don't know what I"m doing.

System Manufacturer/Model Number ME
OS windows 7 Pro x64
CPU Q6600
Motherboard ASUS P5N-D
Memory CORSAIR 8GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800
Graphics Card Evga Superclocked 8800gt
Monitor(s) Displays SAMSUNG 226BW Black 22

PSU SeaSonic S12 Energy Plus SS-650HT 650W ATX12V V2.3
Cooling Tuniq Tower 120 Universal CPU Cooler 120mm Cooling Fan and F
Hard Drives 2 Western Digital Caviar Black WD2001FASS 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Western Digital Caviar Black 1 TB Western Digital Caviar SE16 WD7500AAKS 750GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5

Solution
Some good advice and some not so good advice above.

First, run the internal multiplier at X9 (Q6600). Do not bother trying to maximize FSB speed. Performance does not scale linearly with FSB speed and it will decrease memory stability.

Second, run with SpeedStep enabled. If you need to disable SpeedStep, you do not have a stable overclock. I have several OC'd Core2 systems: Q9550 (C3 core) @ 3.6 GHz, Q6600 @ 3.6 GHz, E7500 @ 4.1 GHz, and an E6500 @ 3.87 GHz (FSB limited G41 board). All Gigabyte boards, all 24 hour Prime95 stable. All running with SpeedStep enabled. All running FSB:RAM ratio of 1:1 at max internal multiplier.

Had an eVGA 680i board with a Conroe E6600. That was running at 3.6 GHz. Bought it before anyone including...

thyrokio

Distinguished
Dec 25, 2010
Your target FSB is 388 (I'd do 389) if you keep the multi a 9. At that speed, you don't even need to overclock your ram which makes things easier.