Question for the floor, installing LTE on a custom desktop PC build?

Jun 21, 2018
Full disclosure, I am new to this so feel free to answer however dumbed down you'd like.

I am trying to figure out how I can add LTE to my new PC build from this year (details on the build to follow if pertinent to answer this question). Basically the goal is to figure out what hardware and software is required to allow my PC to function like a windows laptop that comes with LTE compatibility. I have done some research and I know that some laptops that have optional lte require a PCI or M.2 WWAN card to be installed in order for it to talk to the LTE signal. However all of these devices have an existing sim card slot, which is obviously required to talk to the wireless network. If there is a way to accomplish this, I intend on using Verizon service as it is the fastest in my area (and I may or may not be a VZW employee and get a great discount on cell service).

For those of you who will tell me to use a hotspot or jetpack to accomplish this, the goal is to get around the hotspot or tethering restrictions that are inherit with all Verizon unlimited plans. When using any kind of tethering or hotspot you only get LTE speeds for the first 15 Gigs, after which its throttled to 600 Kbps. However with phones, tablets, and LTE compatible laptops you can use all the LTE you want and will only be slowed after high use if there is network congestion in your area (which should not be a problem in my area).

Its possible this is a problem that has already been solved, and I am just not searching the correct terms or recognizing my answer so any recommendations or links are appreciated.

I know I will need a WWAN card (hopefully this is plug right in to one of my available PCI or M.2 slots on my mother board)

I don't know how to get a sim card into this system.