[SOLVED] questions about replacing a NVMe SSD

Hdmstr

Commendable
Feb 26, 2022
Hello everyone.

I have an ASUS vivobook flip 14 tp470. I've done some reseach and found my SSD to be a Hynix 256gb nvme PCIe gen 3. I've attached an image below.

A6V6S210414jTbB6.jpg

Theres a few things I was hoping to get some help with. I'm a bit of a noob with this so please bear with me.

Firstly, in order to replace an SSD I need to make sure I have a system image backed up as it will wipe my computer. I will then need to reinstall windows as usual then chuck the system image back on, followed by reinstalling my apps. I hear there are partition tools that can help with this, so jsut wanted to know if my method stated would work just fine or if I should use a partition tool.

Secondly, I need to upgrade the storage on my laptop. I was looking at various SSDs and checking the size of the SSD was always mentioned but I'm not really sure how to do that. I'm looking at getting a samsung 970 or 980 and wanted to know if I would have any issues replacing the Hynix I have with this. It said the (length?) of the SSD can be determined by checking the motherboard... but I have no idea how to find out what motherboard my laptop uses.

Thanks for the help!

Solution
For #1 above, you do it like this:

Assuming you have another drive with sufficient free space to hold the entirety of your current m.2 drive:

1. Download and install Macrium Reflect
  2. Run that, and create a Rescue CD or USB (you'll use this later). "Other Tasks"
  3. In the Macrium client, create an Image to some other drive. External USB HDD, maybe. Select all partitions. This results in a file of xxxx.mrimage
  4. When done, power OFF.
  5. Swap the 2 drives
  6. Boot up from the Rescue USB you created earlier.
  7. Restore (on the toolbar), and tell it where the Image is that you created in step 3, and which drive to apply it to...the new m.2
  8. Go, and wait until it finishes.
  9. That's all...this should work.

USAFRet