Question Raspberry Pi 5 connection issues and IP problems

RyzenNoob

Reputable
Jul 13, 2020
I'm having a bit of a problem with connecting to the Raspberry Pi 5, first of all, most of the times it has a difficulty connecting using SSH software like PuTTY and BitVise. And when I do connect, after a few moments, it suddenly disconnects.
Also, I managed to get the IP address, which is unusual, because its in hex format, rather than decimal

OldSurferDude

Honorable
May 18, 2019
I make the assumption that you have a fresh install of the Raspberry Pi OS. If that is true, my experience has been that erratic behaviour like this most likely is caused by a cheap SSD card. Being the cheap illigitimate offspring that I am, I have lots of experience with this.

Be wary of great deals. Even Amazon gets bit by forgeries. On AliExpress one might say to expect them.

Other sources of erratic behaviour is heat. You did install the heat sinks, right? Try using a fan.

Inadequate power supplies are definitely suspect. Check the 5V. Less than 4.9V and you're probably going to have problems. A power supply with excessive ripple will cause problems. You'd need a DVM that can measure AC voltage at about 1VAC or less to do this.

Starting on the unlikely list: a poorly manufactured RPi board. I've never seen this. Look for solder blobs and/or contamination. Try to look inside the SD card slot for bent pins, gunk, and the like.

And, of course, there's user error. This is my biggest problem. Seems that there's some part of me that does things wrong just for fun. OK, but did you fully seat the SD card? If it didn't go in smoothy, there may be a problem there.

Good luck with it.

OSD

Reactions: RyzenNoob

RyzenNoob

Reputable
Jul 13, 2020
I managed to do this without PuTTY or any other software. I got it via the command line. Seems like Windows 11 doesn't like PuTTY or Bitvise
Do you have any recommendations for any other VNC software? VNC viewer now charges for using their software