Question Seeking quality mechanical keyboard that's feel > frills — Recommendations?

doesnotcompute

Distinguished
Jun 1, 2011
Hello and thanks for reading...

I've had an IBM Model M keyboard that I've used for decades that may finally be showing its age, so I'm looking at the mechanical keyboard market for the first time. And while I'm a pretty quick researcher, weeding through all the offerings is a daunting task, so I'm hoping to lean on others' experiences. Here's what I'm looking for, and a bit of what I'm not:
  • Full-size keyboard
  • Quality feel for a mix of productivity/office and games (while I play some "twitch" games, I don't need competitive FPS response times)
  • PBT or similar keycaps with texture
  • Preference for quieter, non-clicky keypresses
  • While macros, extra programmable keys, audio/video controls, etc. are nice, they're not at all mandatory
  • Simple aesthetics suit me fine (all black works for me)
  • Zero need for any lighting
  • No intention to customize — would prefer to get what I need out of the box vs. having to replace keycaps, switches, etc. So hot swapping not needed.
  • Ideally, around $100 or less, but willing to go higher if there aren't great options at that price point
I tried a number at Best Buy from the usual household names, and I found Corsair's K70 and Logitech's G915 to be the best (while I didn't care for Razer's Huntsman or SteelSeries' Apex 7). But I figure those also come with extras I don't need and quite possibly lower build quality compared to less well-known names.

I welcome your recommendations and insights, and appreciate your time.

Thanks,
ELB

It's going to be difficult to find mechanical switches that feel like the Model M, because the Model M isn't mechanical but a rubber dome keyboard with buckling springs.