Question Seeking to Power 3 120mm 12V RGB fans / MSI P67A-GD65 Motherboard

Mar 19, 2019
I'm building a new/used PC with a MSI P67A-GD65 motherboard and Thermaltake Case (Thermaltake Versa J25 Tempered Glass RGB Edition). I'm having trouble figuring out what exactly I should do to power the 3 120mm 12 V RGB fans in the front that are connected via the Thermaltake Dual-Mode 12V SYNC Controller with a 12V out 4 pin(?). The motherboard has 4 x SYS Fan (3-pin). I don't need an RGB motherboad header since the RGB fans can be changed with a button in front but I do need the fans to be powered and lit.

Any input would be greatly appreciiated. Thanks in advance.

PS- I'm a Noob with one NZXT H400 Build with new parts that went smoothly.

Darth Sicaedus

Distinguished
Jun 30, 2009
You can run the 4 pin fans from the 3 pin headers, but the 4 pin PWM fans will always run at full speed unless your board has voltage based speed control. I don't know much about your board though. Here is a good article about PWM fans.

Mar 19, 2019
Thanks for the info. The header(s) coming out of the controller are actually not normal 4 pin fan headers, they differ a bit in that they are symmetrical without a tab. There is a female and male that are tied into the same cable and they can plug into each other. IDK lol

Photo of controller and 4 pin female male 12V cable:
https://photos.app.goo.gl/jRYifeahMrzXLdGx8

Mar 19, 2019
Ok, thanks. That makes sense that it's an RGB Hub. I guess I need a power cable/adapter to connect the +12V RGB and GRB Header (if they make such a thing), so it gets power and lights up the fans. I wonder if it's still possible to get PWM control or fan control in general. Maybe I should have just bought a new motherboard instead of Circa 2011 but I wanted to do some overclocking practice on this one. I know another option would be to just get 3 pin fans for the front, not using the controller, and I'd be good to go. Ugh, more parts lol.

Darth Sicaedus

Distinguished