SLI / CrossFire FAQs

Page 20 - Seeking answers? Join the Tom's Hardware community: where nearly two million members share solutions and discuss the latest tech.

Maziar

Champion
Moderator


I think Everest shows,doesn't this page have it ?
 

xtechcor

Distinguished
Feb 26, 2009
10
0
18,510
0
Nothing shows it...Have searched everywhere!! Thats why i asked is the speed of my system memory the same as my onboard graphics memory...Cause i cant find any program to show me
 

Maziar

Champion
Moderator

Sorry i misunderstood :) you are right GPU-Z doesn't show it either,i hope they will add it in their next versions
 

xtechcor

Distinguished
Feb 26, 2009
10
0
18,510
0

this sucks... Does RAM coolers really keep RAM that cool?
 

meodowla

Distinguished
Nov 23, 2008
725
0
18,980
0
I've a doubt regarding Memory size and monitor resolution.
I got a 24" monitor with 1920x1080(16:9 aspect ratio) resolution... somewhere i read that 1GB GPU memory required for such resolution. Now i'm using HD4850 512MB.
 

nukemaster

Titan
Moderator
I play most games at 1920 x 1200 with a 512MB 4870 and it is generally fine(And still faster then my 8800GTX was). I do wish I had a bit more memory for more AA,AF ect, but its playable for sure on most games.
 

mortonww

Distinguished
May 27, 2009
961
0
19,160
56
Here's a question about my 4870x2. Is there a setting that I need to enable in Catalyst for both GPUs to run? Like enabling an internal crossfire? Because right now, I'm getting 15 frames per second on Crysis at 1920x1080, High, 0xAA and I KNOW my card is supposed to do much better than this. I've seen benchmarks of a 4850x2 doing 50 fps at these settings.
 

mortonww

Distinguished
May 27, 2009
961
0
19,160
56
Sorry for the repeat question, but this is a huge thread. I was guessing there might have been an answer in this thread already, but using search for "4870x2 crossfire" probably would've yielded too many results unrelated to my question. (and I'm at work, lol. trying to be quick).

Thanks!
 

Maziar

Champion
Moderator

I think you didn't get what he said :) he said this :
"No, but if you game at that small of a resolution, then I would get the 512MB card. No point with the 1GB cards unless your at least at 19x10. (unless you have $$$ to burn that is.) "

He didn't mean that a 1GB card is required for a monitor which supports 1920x1200 resolution,he meant that there is no need to get a 1GB card over a 512MB one unless you GAME at 1920x1200.
 

Maziar

Champion
Moderator
Download GPU-Z and run 2 copies of it and select the "Sensor" tab in both,then open a game like Crysis and play for some minutes,then press ALT+Enter (Don't quit the game)and check the Fan speed and GPU load of both.

And by the way make sure you have the latest catalyst driver installed,there is something wrong here because i have a 4870X2 too and i don't have this problem.

Hope this helps :)
 

Maziar

Champion
Moderator
thanks :) but i think you misunderstood something nuke :) i didn't mean you can't game with a 512MB card and a 1GB card is needed, i was talking about what 4745454b told,which he said get a 1GB card if you play at 1920x1200.
 

ryanhmusic

Distinguished
Jun 29, 2009
105
0
18,710
5
First post :)
Anyways, this is the first thing I ever read on Tom's Hardware (as a member) and have to thank you because of how informative it was. Just wanted to tell you, your work does help people and new people do read it!

Thanks
 

Similar threads


ASK THE COMMUNITY

TRENDING THREADS