SOOO MANY VERSIONS OF GTX 1070! Which one should I get?

davidgar026

Commendable
Jun 22, 2016
So I know that the GTX 1070's Founder Edition is available for now. Later on there will be custom made and non reference cards of the 2070. I want to know what versions of the 1070 or brand should I be getting or a specific version of the 1070 that I should get. Btw i'm new to buying a GPU so I don't get all these different types of versions being released.

Here's my PC part list for reference - http://pcpartpicker.com/list/nFhWZ8

and the purpose of my build is for gaming. I was hoping i'd reach a 90 fps if that's possible.

Solution

Math Geek

Titan
Ambassador
here is a list of all known models so far http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/id-3047729/nvidia-geforce-gtx-1000-series-megathread-faq-resources.html#17902598

has specs, power needs, links to reviews. there has been so few reviews it's hard to say which is "the best" yet. so far it seems that they will all oc to the same amount. it may have a higher oc out of the box but it will still max at the same as the FE will. i'd wait a while for more models to be readily available and reviewed so we can see what performs better. though i don't think there will be a massive difference between the models, just like with the 1080's. all the custom ones perform near identical to each other. this makes price and how it looks more important overall.

Math Geek

Titan
Ambassador
MERGED QUESTION
Question from davidgar026 : "About ASUS GeForce GTX 1070 Founders Edition"

at stock speeds an FE card will run plenty cool. and yes the design blows the heat out of the back of the case which is actually better than the custom cards which blow the heat back inside the case. this means the case fans have to do the work of removing that heat as well as the cpu's heat.