Strange graphics performance and temp

Status
Not open for further replies.

GodlessGamer

Honorable
Jul 26, 2012
Hello guys, this website has given me a lot of info thus far, so i figure this would be the best place to get some FREE expert advice from you.

first of all here are my system specs:

Acer Predator g5900
intel core i5 processor 650
6gb ddr3
500gb hdd
twin frozer 2 gtx 580

now i recently added 2 gb of ram and upgraded my graphics card from a gt 340 to the one mentioned above.
I'm new to the whole pc gaming thing, just realised the benefits of changing from a ps3, and i love it. however i seem to have some problems and not many answers so ill keep it short

ok first
my temperature idle is 40 - 45 c , which seems ok, however when gaming it hovers around the 65 - 79 c mark, is this ok ? will it have any detrimental effect to my nice new card since i spend a fair bit of time gaming?. sometimes i use a house fan nearby and the temp falls by a nice 5 or 6 c.

sometimes when it is at the 79 c region my computer blue screens mid game and restarts itself, (rarely but too much for my liking) this is both worrying and annoying, any tips on how to prevent this, or why it is happening in the first place?

and finally, despite upgrading my card a fair amount, on some games i see a very negligible improvement over my gt 340. the best example is ARMA 2 in which my fps drops by freaking 30 the second i add a few ai to the game and a few things explode. despite this, with only a few AI, i can play with 3d resoloution increased from 1680 well into the 4000 range with a loss of maby 3 or 4 fps, i thought this would take way more toll than a few unscripted ai firing at targets :( . however on skyrim, and fallout, and world in conflict, i can max everything and maintain a full 60 fps. this is confusing and quite annoying given the £300 i spent on this thing, and the subsequent drastically varying performance.