[SOLVED] Stumped - 10700K Drops Clock Speed Unattended

wyliec2

Splendid
Apr 4, 2014
I have three desktops:
  • Ryzen 3950X (video encoding)
  • I7-10700K (my daily driver)
  • I5-10600K (my wife’s daily driver)

I do a lot of video encoding from ISO to MKV files. The 3950X is where I do 90% of my encoding. Recently, I have been doing some large batches and I wanted to spread the load (30 on the 3950X, 12 on the 10700K and 8 on the 10600K to do in 24-30 hours).

The 3950X and 10600K work fine but the 10700K will drop the CPU clock speed after the Display shuts off. The 10600K and 10700K are virtually side-by-side and I’ve checked every Windows 10 setting, every BIOS setting (all are ASUS mobos). I’ve been doing this for many years and I’ve never had this happen (old I7-4770K, I7-5960X platforms).

I have Display set to turn off after 10 minutes and System to Sleep after 20 minutes – I use Handbrake and have it set to not let the system go to Sleep while encoding.

The system isn’t actually in Sleep mode or throttling – the CPU continues running at 90%-100%. Normally the clock is 4700, but it will drop to 3600 for about 10 minutes and then drop to 2600 and stay there until I come back and ‘wake’ it up. This happens even when I have the system set to Never Sleep and appears to be tied to the Display shutting off with a lack of keyboard/mouse activity. It's a PITA to leave it running all night and then find that it only got half as much done as expected. Temps max at 72C and Vcore at 1.24.

I have a somewhat expensive 4K monitor and I don’t want to have to keep it on all night long…I’ve been debating just setting to keep the display on all the time and manually turning it off as a last resort.

Specs are:
Intel I7-10700K
ASUS ROG Strix Z490-E mobo
Seasonic Platinum 850W PSU
Samsung 970 EVO m.2
G.Skill Ripjaws F4-3200C14D-16GVK
Win10 Home Premium (current on updates – same with other PCs)