Tom's Hardware Superposition Benchmark Thread

Page 2 - Seeking answers? Join the Tom's Hardware community: where nearly two million members share solutions and discuss the latest tech.
Status
Not open for further replies.

EquineHero

Reputable
BANNED
Oct 6, 2015
712
0
5,010
20


and I have to set everything as high as possible to even get 100 points...
 

EquineHero

Reputable
BANNED
Oct 6, 2015
712
0
5,010
20


It's almost 200% as good as the 970. Which is why I get almost double your score.

Do it, it's fantastic and even with Skyrim 2K and Fallout 4's 60GB Hi-res DLC I never, ever max out the 8GB of vRAM. It's a freakin fast card.
 

EquineHero

Reputable
BANNED
Oct 6, 2015
712
0
5,010
20


I'm getting the 1070Ti as soon as I can so if you want to buy it off me for $400...Check out my custom cooler in the pic below...

Edit:
 

jankerson

Judicious
BANNED


Yeah, I got +282 points going from stock to 2113 and 5940......

So a 1,000 point difference.... GAWD.... Massive.

 

Rogue Leader

It's a trap!
Moderator
Whats funny is the system uses noticeably more power with HBCC on. It averaged around 50W-60W or so more playing Mass Effect Andromeda. Before I was just about maxing the wattage from my UPS, now the overcurrent alarm goes off all the time, so I turned HBCC off for now and ordered a bigger UPS!
 

jankerson

Judicious
BANNED


Guess the lights all dim once that thing starts to work. LOL :D

Well the good thing is you have a space heater now in the room. :D

What are your 3D Mark Scores?
 

Rogue Leader

It's a trap!
Moderator


lol yeah prettymuch

Firestrike - http://www.3dmark.com/fs/13959146

Timespy - http://www.3dmark.com/spy/2611814

Firestrike improved by 700 points with HBCC on, Timespy about 200 pts. I think the improvements are based on how texture rich the test is. Thats probably why Superposition had such a huge jump the textures on it are insane.
 

jankerson

Judicious
BANNED


Good scores. :)

Yeah it much be something with Superposition, crazy BM.

Here are mine, both stock and OCed because I don't run my card OCed over what the boost and auto OC does.

Stock:

Fire Strike - https://www.3dmark.com/fs/13947500

Time Spy - https://www.3dmark.com/spy/2147013

OCed:

Fire Strike - https://www.3dmark.com/fs/13907988

Time Spy - https://www.3dmark.com/spy/2576590
 

EquineHero

Reputable
BANNED
Oct 6, 2015
712
0
5,010
20

I've got a Corsair CX600 PSU, I ran my 1070 alongside a 580 both at the same time for a faster Blender export...Silicon power supply lottery is a thing I guess. The daughterboard in my Corsair CX600 is actually from a GS800 minus two 8-pin PCI plugs, so I soldered some on. The board is also labelled "800" where Corsair usually puts the wattage, so I guess someone at the factory screwed up and covered their tracks.

EDIT: fixed a typo



Gawd, have you felt the heat three Fermi cards can generate? I had dual 460s for a bit and I had to lower the heat when I used blender or even played Minecraft.


Is that overclocked at all? That's practically the same score as my max-clocked 1070 (until I get my Morpheus II). Trying to break 4000 with a 1070 is hard :(
 

SinxarKnights

Distinguished

Yes it is very near the absolute max i can get unless i add some voltage to it. Also there are two 5ths on the chart.
 

anort3

Titan
Moderator


Umm no. There is no such thing as a CX 800. There's a CX 750 but it's based on a completely different platform so there's no cross compatibility. Not to mention the old group regulated CX series is terrible and certainly not something you want to be stressing more than their onboard connectors already allow. The new CX(M) x50 units are better ( dumbed down version of the discontinued RM line ) and have DC to DC regulation. Still not something I'd be modding so they could provide more power than intended from the factory. That's one of the worst ideas I've ever heard.

TL: DR : I wouldn't trust a CX 600 with a 1070 from the factory much less with some home brewed mod. You can expect 3 years out of a CX x00 just like the warranty.
 

USAFRet

Titan
Moderator
Mar 16, 2013
116,962
2,564
148,140
19,051


Interesting.
Corsair doesn't even mention a CX800. :pt1cable:

http://www.corsair.com/en-us/power-supply-units/cx-series
 

anort3

Titan
Moderator
Because there's never been one. The CX 750 is a completely different platform that has different internals. If anything it was worse than the regular CX series. It failed in HardOCP's testing. I truly can't imagine modding a CX for any reason much less to make it capable of providing more power. Those units are only rated for 30C!

http://www.realhardtechx.com/index_archivos/Page447.htm

It's a fire waiting to happen.



 

Rogue Leader

It's a trap!
Moderator


Er, there was no CX800, I don't know what that "800" on the board is but it has nothing to do with the output.

Being that the CX600 is a known problem PSU, pushing it how you are (and adding connectors) is a recipe for disaster, that honestly is a house fire waiting to happen.
 
Using the same PCB for different products and changing what's populated is *extremely* common.

And changing exact product specifications and names prior to launch is also very common.

It's possible that when that board was designed, there was expected to be a CX800, and it was going to be used for everything 430W up. Or it's from someone else's 800W PSU and it saves on design costs. Or anything.
 

anort3

Titan
Moderator


Nope. The CX 430-600 use the Channel Well DSA III platform. It was created specifically for Corsair and is unique to those models.

http://www.orionpsudb.com/platforms
 
Sure, the platform may have been. But that doesn't necessarily mean that every part was. The modular board could have been grabbed from something else, or they intended to use the modular board on a future expansion of the lineup that never happened.
 

EquineHero

Reputable
BANNED
Oct 6, 2015
712
0
5,010
20


Deleted my other reply because the formatting was horrible.

I meant to say GS800. I had CX stuck in my head from typing it so I just typed it as CX800 instead.



I think we've established this.

This is the very first revision, even says REV 1.0 on the PCB. I've had this since it was released, and it's powered almost every card I've had. Dual GTX460SE's, a Gigabye 580, GTX 650, GTX 660, GTX 1050Ti, 1050Ti FTW, GTX 770, GTX 950 FTW, dual GTX 550Tis, the list goes on. This PSU has proven to be extremely reliable, I wouldn't have done the mod if I wasn't confident.



I believe this is a GS800 in the shell of a CX600 with two 8-pin plugs removed. Like I said, the PSU has proven reliable, I wouldn't have done this if I didn't think the PSU couldn't handle the load.


Interesting.

The board is black and has Corsair's logo on it. I'm gonna move it to a different chassis that has little windows so you can see the fan and replace the fan with an LED one.


I know that, but I'm fairly sure this PSU was borked somehow and that's how an 800W PCB made it into a 600W chassis. It's proven it's capable, and only time will tell.

The fan only spins up when the interior of my case gets warm, like when I play GTA5 for 4 hours straight, and even then I can just take off the side panel.

 
Status
Not open for further replies.

ASK THE COMMUNITY

TRENDING THREADS