Um, the very last licid question

Tim

Distinguished
Mar 31, 2004
1,833
0
19,780
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

Hi,

Apologies - had no idea Licid's would create so many questions....

WHEN can you activate the {1}{U}{U}, {T}: <dominate> As an instant, or only when
you could normally play enchantments - ie during your main phase?

----
Dominating Licid
{1}{U}{U}
Creature -- Licid
1/1
{1}{U}{U}, {T}: Dominating Licid loses this ability, becomes an enchant creature
enchanting target creature, and gains "{U}: End the effect that created this
ability."
You control enchanted creature.
-----

Ok, I'll take a stab at the answer: since it becomes an enchantment you can only do
it during your turn when you could normally play an enchantment. Since it {T} it
cannot be done while it has summoning sickness.

The {U}: End the effect can be done anytime (aka instant) right?

TIA,

Tim
 
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

"Tim" <XX@nah.com> writes:
> Apologies - had no idea Licid's would create so many questions....

Licids work very well from the rules perspective, but the answers to
questions about them are often unintuitive to players. Keep on asking.

> WHEN can you activate the {1}{U}{U}, {T}: <dominate> As an instant, or
> only when you could normally play enchantments - ie during your main
> phase?

Anytime you have priority to play spells and abilities. (Which is
generally the same times that you could play an instant spell.)

> Dominating Licid {1}{U}{U} Creature -- Licid 1/1
> {1}{U}{U}, {T}: Dominating Licid loses this ability, becomes an
> enchant creature enchanting target creature, and gains "{U}: End the
> effect that created this ability."
> You control enchanted creature.
>
> Ok, I'll take a stab at the answer: since it becomes an enchantment
> you can only do it during your turn when you could normally play an
> enchantment.

Nope. You can play the ability anytime you could play an
ability. (How's that for redundancy?) Any activated ability can be
played anytime you have priority (i.e. could play an instant), but (1)
some abilities explicitly restrict this (like "play this only anytime
you could play a sorcery"), and (2) mana abilities (activated
abilities that produce mana) can also be played when something is
asking you for a mana cost.

> Since it {T} it cannot be done while it has summoning sickness.

That is correct. As a side note (and a venture into the wonderful
world of Licids), it keeps its tapped-ness when it becomes an
enchantment. This means that you normally couldn't take over one
creature with it, end the effect, and take over a different creature,
all on one turn, without something untapping it. (It being tapped as
an enchantment doesn't really *do* anything, it just is, and stays so
if its effect ends before it gets to untap. As either a creature or as
an enchantment, it untaps during the untap step as normal along with
everything else.)

> The {U}: End the effect can be done anytime (aka instant) right?

Right.

> TIA,

You're very welcome. Keep on asking those Licid questions... it can
give you great insights into how the rules work sometimes. :)

--
Peter C.
"I need to practice talking to myself now."
-- Me
 
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

On Thu, 7 Oct 2004 10:40:29 +1000, Tim <XX@nah.com> wrote:
>Apologies - had no idea Licid's would create so many questions....

"Licids". Trust me, they're very good at it. Have you looked at Transmogrifying
Licid yet?

>WHEN can you activate the {1}{U}{U}, {T}: <dominate>
>As an instant, or only when
>you could normally play enchantments - ie during your main phase?

It's an activated ability, and doesn't say it has any restrictions on when you
can play (announce) the ability, so you can do so any time you have priority.

To be limited in when you could do it, it would have to say something like
"Play this ability only during your upkeep" or "Play this ability only any
time you could play a sorcery" or some such. For example, the rules about
Equip in the rulebook note that it has the latter restriction, so it's an
activated ability that you can only play during your Main phase, if the stack
is empty.

But the Licid abilities in general you can play any time you have priority.
(Same applies to the ability they grant themselves that ends the Licid
effect.)

Dave
--
\/David DeLaney posting from dbd@vic.com "It's not the pot that grows the flower
It's not the clock that slows the hour The definition's plain for anyone to see
Love is all it takes to make a family" - R&P. VISUALIZE HAPPYNET VRbeable<BLINK>
http://www.vic.com/~dbd/ - net.legends FAQ & Magic / I WUV you in all CAPS! --K.
 

TRENDING THREADS