Upgrading from a Q6700 to a QX9650

gavinski

Distinguished
Dec 18, 2007
to all you experienced OC'ers i recently brought my new rig here are the current specs

Q6700 2.66 currently overclocked to 3.25
4gb OCZ Reaper X
Asus Striker Extream flashed to latest bios
2 x ASUS 8800 GTX SLI
OCZ 1100 PSU
Coolermaster Stacker 832
4 x Raptor X 73gb Disks Raid 0
Asus PhysX Card
Bigwater 735 CPU Cooler

i am very new to the world of OC and i was very proud of myself getting the 2.6 to 3.2ghz without the need to spend anymore money but now i want more you guys are proberly the same i have tried to overclock more on my Q6700 but just cant seem to keep it stable so i decided to upgrade my CPU am getting a QX9650 which is stock at 3ghz what could i overclock this to does anybody know ? and if so how do i do it safely :) a real dummies guide would be great especially if anybody knows the striker extream motherboard settings if you guys need anything else just shout :)

Lupiron

Distinguished
Feb 9, 2008
You will have to get the processor and list the VID first, since that lists your starting voltage for stock speeds.

Down Load and run either Core Temp with EIST disabled, or Real Temp, and either one should show the VID of your processor.

List them both, if you will. Your q6700 is good for at least 3.6 Ghz for sure...

Your NVidia chipset mother board will just make things more interesting as far as getting to those higher speeds are concerned!

So once we see what your Q6700 VID is, we can then test your VDrop and droop, and then find a bios vcore that gets near what your chip will need for a higher speed!

You may wanna get a 9450, hehehe! :) And then for the same price, get me one, too! And then we can both over clock them to 3.6 + as well! ;)

--Lupi

Lupiron

Distinguished
Feb 9, 2008