Question UPS turns off even when there is electricity

Skift2

Prominent
Dec 3, 2021
I have a 1500VA offline ups that I've been using for a few years by now. I have changed batteries before and everything has gone well. My PC has been the same for close to 3 years by now and the issue has been happening only in the last month. The issue is: I will be using my PC (gaming or not) and there is electricity and the ups shuts itself and the PC, then I have to turn off the UPS, turn it back on and only then will I be able to turn my PC back on and the moment I turn it on the UPS does the same thing again. I got new batteries and the issue still resides. If I unplug my UPS while everything is running it behaves normally and turns off after the batteries are drained. Could this be a simple issue that can be fixed easily or has something been overloaded beyond repair and I should just get a new one?

Skift2

Prominent
Dec 3, 2021
Make and model UPS?

Any power strips or surge protectors in the electrical connection path?
Zeus 1500VA I don't have anymore info about the model and the back just says 1500VA. the UPS is connected to a power strip which has had the same connections on it: phone charger, second monitor, a DAC/AMP and the UPS also the PC is currently connected to the power strip and it's working fine

Ralston18

Titan
The UPS shutting itself off may be a safety feature of some sort.

Most UPS manufacturers warn against using power strips and other surge protections with a UPS.

I suggest some testing to narrow down the possible culprits.

Starting with removing the power strip. Many power strips are cheaply made almost to the point of being unsafe.

Sketch out a diagram of everything connected showing all cables, wires. etc..

Are there any loops: Device A connected to Device B connected to Device C connected to Device D and then connected to Device A again? Any loop at all. Not just the electrical connections: audio, video, network....