What approach should I take to get THIS?

confuxion

Distinguished
Aug 4, 2009
Hey Folks,

I need some serious advice as to how to end up with my next high-end PC. I have a decent idea of what parts I want in that PC, but I'm not sure how to make this machine take shape. To start, here's a bit about myself:

- I have an intermediate level of knowledge about PC's and their parts, but I'm absolutely terrified of building my own rig.
- I'm a web designer/developer who spends most of the day in Adobe CS4.
- I do a lot of video transcoding/converting, and am all about multitasking and speed.
- I don't game at all and don't plan on it anytime soon.
- I'm willing to spend about $2,500 to get a system that will be highly upgradeable and future-proof.

My approach thus far has been to configure some systems at high-end, custom PC makers' websites. The only two places where I've felt I've had some success at configuring what I want have been cyberpowerpc.com and pugetsystems.com (I'd love to hear recommendations on other places to configure a fairly high-end rig). People on these forums have made it clear to me that I would save as much as half off if I were to purchase all the parts I want separately and build the system from scratch. However, I don't think I could come to trust myself in attempting to do this. If someone can point out why I might want to think otherwise, I'm all ears.

Here's a list of generic parts I'm fairly certain I want in my new rig:

- Core i7 920 processor (don't think I need anything better)
- 12gig RAM (this is a must; I just have to have as much RAM as possible)
- (at least) 512mb graphics card (don't know if I should have one or two. I have two monitors now; will have 3 eventually)
- 2 x 150gig Velociraptors in RAID 0 (not sure what to do here; just need the fastest disk access possible)
- Full Tower case (or will mid do?) w/ plenty of room for a ton of storage (one of those LCD temp displays on front would be nice)