What should I upgrade first?

harismasood1234

Commendable
Aug 10, 2018
Hey guys i'm new to Pc gaming, and i bought a cheap rig not too long ago, i'm planning to upgrade some components soon, what should i upgrade first, here are my specs.
Evga Gtx 660 2GB
Intel Core I3 3220 @3.30GHz
8GB Ram
120GB SSD
2TB HDD

Solution

Well, in many ways, your system is OK. Although the SSD might be a bit on the small side, as long as you limit it to Windows & your most-used applications, I would move everything else (My Documents/Music/Pictures/Downloads, less-used apps, etc.) to your HDD as much as possible to help maintain free space on the SSD. RAM-wise, you're probably OK for now, but if your motherboard can handle it I would consider upgrading to 16GB of DDR3 RAM.

GPU-wise, it depends on the games you're playing &...
I would suggest you save your money and build a PC with up to date components.
If you upgrade the GPU, your CPU will hold you back and vice-versa.
If you still want to upgrade then go for the GTX 1060 and Core i5-3570 or Core i7-3770.
Which motherboard do you have?

Well an upgrade to a current CPU/Chipset is always best. But if you are sticking with the generation you have there and you have to upgrade one part at a time. I'd say do the CPU first and go for an i7 and then do the GPU.

Check your motherboard spec page first to make sure what CPUs it can handle. This is extra important if this is a prebuild from HP or Dell as they sometimes don't bother providing support for all CPUs on their motherboards.

harismasood1234

Commendable
Aug 10, 2018

the motherboard i have is the asus p8h61-mx r2.0, how big of a difference is there between the i7 and i5, and is it worth getting the k version for overclocking?

spdragoo

Splendid
Ambassador