Question New Build GPU help- ASRock Steel Legend OC Radeon RX 7900 GRE - Keeps turning off

Apr 24, 2024
Looking for some help before I return the card. First time building a PC. For whatever reason the GPU turns off within a few seconds after booting up. I am new to PC building so looking for some trouble shooting guidance. Most advice I found on the web notes that the card may be underpowered. I currently have 2 dedicated PCIe (6+2 pin) running from the Corsair 850e PSU. Not sure if it matters but one of the cables has a "pig tail" or a dual port. I just leave the second unplugged. The second PCIe has not pig tail. I have removed the GPU and used the Ryzen 5 7600X graphics capabilities to install windows. I have also downloaded the Adrenalin software in the hopes it was a driver issue. Any help would be greatly appreciated

CPU: AMD Ryzen 5 7600X 4.7 GHz 6-Core Processor
CPU Cooler: Thermalright Peerless Assassin 120 SE WHITE ARGB 66.17 CFM CPU Cooler
Motherboard: ASRock B650M Pro RS WiFi Micro ATX AM5 Motherboard
Memory: TEAMGROUP T-Force Delta RGB 32 GB (2 x 16 GB) DDR5-6000 CL30 Memory
Storage: TEAMGROUP MP44 2 TB M.2-2280 PCIe 4.0 X4 NVME Solid State Drive
Video Card: ASRock Steel Legend OC Radeon RX 7900 GRE 16GB
Power Supply: Corsair RM850e (2023) 850 W 80+ Gold Certified Fully Modular ATX Power Supply
Case: Montech AIR 903 MAX ATX Mid Tower Case

Lutfij

Titan
Welcome to the forums, newcomer!

What BIOS version are you on for your motherboard at this moment of time? As for your PSU concerns, you could source(borrow, not buy) a higher wattage, similarly reliably built unit and see if that brings up any hiccups. If the donor PSU doesn't exhibit any issues, then your limiter was the PSU.

If you think it's a driver issue, use DDU in Safe Mode, remove all GPU drivers(Intel, Nvidia and AMD) then manually install the latest driver sourced from AMD's support site in an elevated command, i.e, Right click installer>Run as Administrator.