Am I expecting too much from my heatsink?

blevsta

Distinguished
Feb 18, 2009
I just got my new computer up and running. This is my first try at overclocking, and as it turns out, I didn't have to up the stock voltage to get to my target. A 25% overclock on my Core i7 920. (3.3ghz).

The problem is, load temps (reported by RealTemp) are up around 67°. Ambient room temp is 24°.

I have a Vigor Monsoon III. From all the articles and posts I've seen, it seems 50-55° is what I should be seeing if I've got adequate cooling. But maybe I'm comparing apples to oranges, most peoples reported temps don't have which tool it's being reported by.

I was thinking maybe I didn't put enough thermal grease down (artic silver), because I've noticed two of the core temps are consistently 5-7° cooler than the other two. But in order to apply more paste, I've got to pull EVERYTHING out of the case. Something I really don't want to do.

I used a pea sized amount in the center of the CPU, and smooshed the heatsink down on top of it. No twisting of any sort, as the tutorial I went off of said this would be sufficient. The airflow of the heatsink is directed out the back of the case.

Mondoman

Splendid
Try running the system with the case side open. If that helps, it means your internal case ventilation was insufficient. If it doesn't help, it means your CPU cooler is maxed out or not quite properly installed.

The amount of thermal compound should be fine; what are your idle temps?

blevsta

Distinguished
Feb 18, 2009
The idle temps are around 38-42°. I've set the CPU fan to max speed instead of auto for the time being. That's a good idea, I'll try opening up the case tonight. Thanks for the advise. If that doesn't fix things I'll post more settings/details later.

chjade84

Distinguished
Oct 30, 2008