dman918

Distinguished
Aug 23, 2005
I am building a new system and wanted to get your input on these two chips:
1. 3200+ Venice
2. 3700+ San Diego
I am willing to overclock a little (though I am a n00b at it, so I am not good at it). I have a xp-90 with a panaflo coming to cool the cpu.
Any opinions or info would be appreciated.
Thanks,
Mike

addiarmadar

Distinguished
May 26, 2003
Well if you got the $$$ and bent on the extra cache then get the San Diego chip. Otherwise get the venice 3000 or Venice 3200. Just make sure you have good ram if you plan on OCing.

<i><font color=red>Only an overclocker can make a computer into a convectional oven.</i></font color=red>

What are you going to use the system to do? Game, video/audio work, surfing the net? What are the rest of your system specs? What's your budget for the system?

dman918

Distinguished
Aug 23, 2005
Mostly, I browse the web and email, which I understand would be very little difference between the two. However, I do edit video here and there, and do play the occassional game.
The rest of my system is as follows:
MSI K8N Neo 4 SLI
1 GB Corsair RAM
Connect3D 800XL Video Card
SB Audigy Sound Card (might not use b/c of onboard sound)
Coolermaster Real Power RS-450-ACLY PSU
Coolermaster Centuiron CAC-T05-WW Case
WD 160GB SATA II Hard Drive
Lite On DVD-ROM
NEC 3540A DVD-RW
Hyundai L90D+ LCD
Thermalright X-90 with L1B Panaflo Fan

Thanks,
Mike

For your usage the listed system may be overkill. I'll go down your list and comment...
1. I personally don't like/recommend MSI mobos. I'd say go with the Abit AN8 Ultra or the Epox 9NPA+.
2. 1GB Corsair. Assuming this is the Value Select series, then just don't pay significantly more for the Corsair than you would for comparable Mushkin or Patriot.
3. Save about $100 and get an X800 - non XL. With the gaming you do, this card should be more than sufficient.