Arcane denial

Tim

Distinguished
Mar 31, 2004
1,833
0
19,780
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

I cast Arcane Denial on my opponent when he summons a skeleton during his turn.
Then, I draw up two cards on my turn (the one I would normally pick up and the one
that A.D says I can pick up). On my opponents next turn, can he draw 2 cards (1 x
normal, 1 from A.D) or 3 (1 x normal, 2 from A.D)?


Card Name: Arcane Denial
Cost: 1U
Type: Instant
Pow/Tgh:
Rules Text: Counter target spell. Its controller may draw up to
two cards at the beginning of the next turn's upkeep.

You draw a card at the beginning of the next turn's
upkeep.



Thanks,

Tim
 
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

Tim wrote:

> I cast Arcane Denial on my opponent when he summons a skeleton during his
> turn. Then, I draw up two cards on my turn (the one I would normally pick
> up and the one
> that A.D says I can pick up). On my opponents next turn, can he draw 2
> cards (1 x
> normal, 1 from A.D) or 3 (1 x normal, 2 from A.D)?

Neither. It says "at the beginning of the next turn's upkeep." It says
nothing about that turn having to be *his*. He gets his up to two cards
at the beginning of *your* upkeep. To add insult to injury, he gets them
before you get your cards. Note that your normal draw happens during
your *draw* step (which happens after your upkeep), so effects that say
anything about how many cards your may draw during your *upkeep* aren't
going to do anything to that draw. And in any case, the wording simply
means that the spell's controller may draw 0, 1 or 2 cards as the result
of this effect. It doesn't affect any other card-drawing he might be
doing during the upkeep.
>
>
> Card Name: Arcane Denial
> Cost: 1U
> Type: Instant
> Pow/Tgh:
> Rules Text: Counter target spell. Its controller may draw up to
> two cards at the beginning of the next turn's upkeep.
>
> You draw a card at the beginning of the next turn's
> upkeep.
>
>
>
> Thanks,
>
> Tim

--
Christopher Mattern

"Which one you figure tracked us?"
"The ugly one, sir."
"...Could you be more specific?"
 
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

I seem to have experienced an extremely realistic hallucination in which
Tim said...
> I cast Arcane Denial on my opponent when he summons a skeleton during his turn.
> Then, I draw up two cards on my turn (the one I would normally pick up and the one
> that A.D says I can pick up). On my opponents next turn, can he draw 2 cards (1 x
> normal, 1 from A.D) or 3 (1 x normal, 2 from A.D)?

He draws the cards at the beginning of THE NEXT turn's upkeep,
regardless of whose turn that is. So if this is a two-player game, he
gets them at the beginning of your upkeep.

Even if the next turn was his, the cards from Arcane Denial would still
be in addition to his normal draw for that draw step. For one thing, AD
says nothing about replacing this; for another, the draws for AD take
place at the beginning of the upkeep step, not the draw step.

> Card Name: Arcane Denial
> Cost: 1U
> Type: Instant
> Pow/Tgh:
> Rules Text: Counter target spell. Its controller may draw up to
> two cards at the beginning of the next turn's upkeep.
>
> You draw a card at the beginning of the next turn's
> upkeep.
>
>
>
> Thanks,
>
> Tim
>
>
>
 
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

On Thu, 17 Feb 2005 13:14:15 +1100, Tim <XX@nah.com> wrote:
>I cast Arcane Denial on my opponent when he summons a skeleton during his turn.
>Then, I draw up two cards on my turn (the one I would normally pick up and the
>one that A.D says I can pick up).

Yes; you draw one as a triggered ability resolves during your upkeep, and the
other as your draw step begins.

> On my opponents next turn, can he draw 2
>cards (1 x normal, 1 from A.D) or 3 (1 x normal, 2 from A.D)?

Arcane Denial 1U Instant
Counter target spell. Its controller may draw up to two cards at the beginning
of the next turn's upkeep. You draw a card at the beginning of the next turn's
upkeep.

Neither. On HIS next turn, he draws one card, the normal one as his draw step
starts. He draws the 0, 1, or 2 cards (his choice, chosen at the time of
resolution) on YOUR turn, from another delayed triggered ability, also made
by the Arcane Denial; Arcane Denial does NOT say "up to two cards at the
beginning of _his or her_ next turn's upkeep. All the cards it causes to
be drawn are drawn during the same upkeep, which in this case is your turn's.

Dave
--
\/David DeLaney posting from dbd@vic.com "It's not the pot that grows the flower
It's not the clock that slows the hour The definition's plain for anyone to see
Love is all it takes to make a family" - R&P. VISUALIZE HAPPYNET VRbeable<BLINK>
http://www.vic.com/~dbd/ - net.legends FAQ & Magic / I WUV you in all CAPS! --K.
 
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

> Neither. It says "at the beginning of the next turn's upkeep."

<snip>

Duh! Thanks Chris and Jeff. You'd think that *someone* in my playing group would
actually read the card (including me) and play as written, not just play it as we
always have played it.

</sheepish>

Tim
 

TRENDING THREADS