Highlander2004

Distinguished
Oct 28, 2004
Hey Everybody, Im new to this forum and couldn't find a specific area to post my question in and think this is the closest. First i should describe my system. I have a :-

Tower Case fitted with a MLC 006 ATX - 350 Watt P4 PSU
Asus P4P800 Deluxe MotherBoard
Intel P4 3.0 Ghz 800 FSB CPU
XFX Geforce 6800 GT agp GPU
2x Crucial 1 Gb DDR 400 CL3 Ram Sticks ie 2 Gb total
Maxtor Diamond MAx Plus 9 160 GB SATA HDD (1.5Gb/s)
NEC 3500 Dual Layer DVD Rom Drive
Sony 1.44 Mb FDD

Sounds Good huh :) Well it would be I think if I could get the bloody thing to work. Its a new build you see and this is my first time. Im a PC Build Virgin I guess. Im competent enough to mess around in the bios ( a little) and install drivers and OS and hardware upgrades but I've never built a system from scratch.

My Problem is the system dosen't boot. Ive not even installed the OS yet which will be XP Pro. I can tell you I do have power on the MotherBoard but it isnt powering the CPU Fan or the HD. The machine stays still and silent. No beeps nothing. Just a little green LED on the motherboard. Nothing else. All the components are new and as far as I can tell connected corectly. Ive basically put this new tower beside my old and pluged the mouse, keyboard, monitor and power cord from the old PC, which works fine, into the new one and nothing, squat, nadda. Ive cheched the position for the memory in the slots so it is running in dual mode. Ive tryed having only 1 stick installed in single mode. Im not sure where the problem can be as it all seems ok and I can only assume that the components, as they were all bought new, are in good working order.

Can anyone here give me advice relating to my problem or directions to a site which can ? All advice is greatly appreciated.

silverwizard

Distinguished
Oct 25, 2004
First 2 thoughts:
Do you have both power plugs firmly seated on the mobo?
350W psu seems a bit weak for that setup but it should still boot anyway.