Building an i5 Gamer [Advice]

fkwyman

Distinguished
Oct 8, 2011
Hi folks!

I'm a long time builder and overclocker, but it's been 5-6 years since I put my current system together. It's time for a major overhaul and I'll be looking at mostly all new components, including a case because I hate my current one (Thermaltake Tsunami Dream). I'm completely out of the loop on current hardware, I've been doing my research which includes reading several threads/reviews here. I would like some input on components.

I'm buying exclusively from Newegg, for a variety of reasons, so if you make a suggestion on a component that I should consider I would ask that you please link to Newegg only.

I'm set on CPU, I'll be getting an i5 2500K. I will be overclocking.

The rest of my shopping cart so far looks like this:
Arctic Silver AA-1.75G Thermal Compound
Antec Three Hundred Black Steel ATX Mid Tower Computer Case
-I always agonize about cases, and never choose one I'm happy with. I'm pretty sure I want bottom mounted PSU and no side window. Open for suggestions!
Western Digital Caviar Black WD7502AAEX 750GB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive -Bare Drive
CORSAIR Vengeance 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
COOLER MASTER Hyper 212 EVO
- Thank you abekl
ASUS SABERTOOTH P67 (REV 3.0) LGA 1155
-Chosen due to being bundled with the CPU for a decent price (399 USD combo) I'm really not sure if I should get a Z68 board instead, thoughts?
EVGA GeForce GTX 570 HD w/Display-Port (Fermi) 1280MB 320-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 x16
-Most reviews seem to consider this card and the HD 6970 equals. I picked this because I get Arkham City free with it. I'm not upgrading my monitor right now, and I realize this is a bit overkill for 1680x1050, but I'm doing a bit of future proofing here.
COUGAR SX850 COUGAR-SX850 850W ATX12V / EPS12V SLI Ready CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS SILVER Certified Modular Active PFC Power Supply