Question Changing from Windows 7 to 10 -- will the installer only format the C partition ?

Status
Not open for further replies.

croPath

Distinguished
Feb 24, 2014
Hi sorry for the noob question but i am not very tech savvy.
I have a very old PC with a single hard drive split into two partitions C and D. I'm wondering if the windows 10 install will just wipe C and leave D alone as that would make it easier for me to backup key files as i cannot easily afford an external backup drive and cloud backup is not practical for the size i have to backup with my current internet speeds.

Solution
he was just trying to help.

While it makes sense to backup files, putting both copies on the same physical drive is just really risky. It doesn't achieve anything. If the drive dies, you lose both anyway.

The entire point of backups is to have 2 different copies on different drives. Not the same one. IN case something goes wrong to the main drive.

(I didn't delete comment either).

if you install windows 10 from inside 7 it will update that install as is and not remove d.

I would really contemplate getting a backup drive... even a USB drive if need be... just be careful as lots of the big USB drives are fakes.

Colif

Win 11 Master
how were you going to install it?

run the installer from inside windows or boot from the windows installer?

if you just run from inside windows it would update 7 to 10 and keep the structure mostly the same. it might make some new ones at end of drive.

If you boot off USB, you have a choice. Update like above or clean install. If you clean install it includes deleting all partitions on the drive.

DSzymborski

Curmudgeon Pursuivant
How large is the drive? Or more importantly, how much space do your backups take? Having files backed up on the same drive is barely better than having no backups at all; it's like keeping your house key and your spare on the same keychain. Figuring this out is *way* more important than an OS upgrade.

croPath