ttofohio

Distinguished
Mar 30, 2005
It will be obvious that I'm a newbie - Oh well, I've been laughed at before. Anyhow...
I'm upgrading an HP Vectra VLi8 currently with 450MHz Slot 1 cpu. Are all Slot 1 (SECC2) cpus compatible as long as the MHz can be handled by machine in question?

I'd rather be lucky than good

slvr_phoenix

Splendid
Dec 31, 2007
Off hand? Beats the hell out of me. I think you're just talking about packaging, which doesn't really have anything to do with the CPU core. I think you'd probably have to be wary of both.

But anyway, I'm fairly certain that if the required CPU voltage, FSB, and socket/slot style of the replacement were identical to your 450MHz CPU, then it should be fine. I'd check to see that you can support the multiplier needed to run the replacement at full speed though. You might have to worry about power concerns if your power supply is already on the edge with your 450MHz chip.

CPU upgrades never seem to be as simple as they aught to.

<pre> :eek: <font color=purple>Yes I'm insane, but it's a <font color=blue><i>good</i></font color=blue> kind of <font color=red>crazy</font color=red>. :eek: </font color=purple></pre><p>@ 184K -> 200,000 miles or bust!

sharps107

Distinguished
Apr 27, 2004
as far as slot 1 is concerned, yes, they will be compatable, but for god's sake man you can get an athlon xp machine with IGP for under $500! i dont even want to know how you managed to find an upgrade for that board.

-I'm Laughing At It Now-

ttofohio

Distinguished
Mar 30, 2005
I know it's not much but I got it for free and it's something to play with and learn from. I was thinking of putting in 700 or 800 MHz(I believe to be the max for it) which I can get for $40. I don't play games so it can handle most of what I do(learning SQL Server and VB.NET)

ttofohio

Distinguished
Mar 30, 2005
It's military surplus.