Crazy-low temp readings from i3 540

The Gonif

Distinguished
Feb 12, 2010
Hi everyone, I just built a PC with a Gigabyte GA-H55M-S2H motherboard and an i3 540 CPU. This is my first time using this processor and also my first time using an aftermarket HSF (Dynatron K987). I noticed something strange. The BIOS shows CPU temp as 20C, which is under ambient room temperature. Then, later, I ran Everest, CPUID Hardware Monitor, and Gigabyte's EasyTune 6. They all showed CPU as 15C, and the two cores as 21C and 26C.

So some questions:

1) Is it typical for the "CPU" reading to be higher than the individual cores?

2) Is it typical for one core to always be 3-6 degrees warmer than the other core?

3) What could cause the BIOS to show the CPU at 15 or 20 degrees when there's no way it could be that low? This CPU is pretty new, could Gigabyte just have a bug in the BIOS?

4) Prime95 elevated the cores to the mid/upper 50s. Is this good for this chip? Or rather, can anyone point me to a page that lists operating temperatures for this chip? I searched Intel's site for over an hour and couldn't find anything.

I'd be more concerned about it, but somehow it knows to speed up the CPU fan under load, despite the faulty temp values.

Thanks!

Solution
What could cause the BIOS to show the CPU at 15 or 20 degrees when there's no way it could be that low? This CPU is pretty new, could Gigabyte just have a bug in the BIOS?

I think it could be that low or close to that low. The 540 is a low power/heat chip. And you said something about an aftermarket heatsink so maybe it is. I used to have a 65watt windsor X2 4600 that idled around 20-24c.

IF this was an I5 750 you would be right. But those tems appear within reason for that cpu.

The Gonif

Distinguished
Feb 12, 2010