Drill Bits needed to drill hole in wood

kb.crookston

Prominent
Nov 10, 2017
I need to drill a hole in the back of my nightstand to run the cords from my electronic devices through. I’m constantly tripping over the wires so I can’t leave them on the floor anymore. Full disclosure, I am a total novice on anything related to power tools. I have my fathers power drill never used it (it’s the M18 18-Volt 1/2 in. Cordless Compact Brushless Hammer Drill).

I saw one post where they were drilling a hole in there nightstand for the same reason and used a spade drill bit. I was hoping someone here could tell me if that’s what I should use or a different type of drill bit. I uploaded a picture of the nightstand. I don’t know if that will help.
Thanks!!

9jetdd.jpg

Solution
Karadjgne is right - figure the size of the hole by the size of the PLUG on the end. Moreover, make sure it's big enough that you can fit a plug through it when there are already several cords taking up part of the space.

What tool? For modest holes sizes (up to 1" to 1½") get a Forstner bit, often called a "spade bit". They come in various sizes and make a hole with a diameter of their blade width. It is a flat wide blade with its leading edges ground to an angle, and a sharp point in the center of the blade to guide the center of the hole. For larger holes, get a small set of Hole Saws. Each is a cup-shaped metal piece with serrated saw teeth around the edge, and a hole in the center. The set comes with a single mandrel, a small hub...

Paperdoc

Polypheme
Ambassador
Karadjgne is right - figure the size of the hole by the size of the PLUG on the end. Moreover, make sure it's big enough that you can fit a plug through it when there are already several cords taking up part of the space.