SuicidalLemming

Distinguished
Jan 22, 2012
Hello everyone. I just built myself a gaming computer. When i plug my DVI cable into my GPU the screen works, but when i plug it into the motherboard it doesn't. I have the "Gigabyte Z68-UD3H-B3" Motherboard. I think it's a driver problem but i can't find any DVI drivers. Since this is my first build i am a PC noob so can anyone tell me what driver i need to install because i can't seem to find it. http://www.gigabyte.com/support-downloads/faq.aspx?pid=3973&pkw=&t=2@0$2@0$2,0,0@1$3973#1-pr-0

SuicidalLemming

Distinguished
Jan 22, 2012

What GPU are you using?
The IGP usually shuts off when the system has an addon GPU. Unless you're going in for a Hybrid setup, but, I doubt that board has it.
I'd also like to know why do you need to plug in the DVI into the Mobo Display Port? When you're already using the GPU?

SuicidalLemming

Distinguished
Jan 22, 2012
I can't seem to find the video driver :S What is the name of it?

The reason i want to plug it into my motherboard is that i'm getting a new monitor in a couple of days and my motherboard has dual dvi input and my GPU doesn't. I am using an Inno3D Geforce 560

cliffro

Distinguished
Aug 30, 2007
You can use both, I am at the moment. But you need to make sure it's enabled in the bios.

Once enabled, go here http://downloadcenter.intel.com/Detail_Desc.aspx?agr=Y&DwnldID=20758&lang=eng&wapkw=(8.15.10.2559) and download either the 64bit one or the 32bit depending on which version of Windows you have.

Though you have to be running Windows 7 to use both if I recall correctly.

I would almost guess you are trying to use Virtu?

If you are, yeah, just enable it in the bios(the option for asus is a bit different but it is called iGPU multi monitor and initiate graphics adapter -> iGPU)

After that is done, you just install the drivers linked above and are good to go.

If you are going to use Virtu, get it from the virtu website as it is more up to date.

cliffro

Distinguished