Larkie

Distinguished
Dec 6, 2008
Hi all i wanted to overclock my cpu. my rig is mobo p5ne sli ram ocz 6400 800mhz 2/ 2g cpu E6750 psu ocz 600watt 2 8800gts 320mbi also put in ak-965 fan for better cooling of cpu I am a beginner but have been reading up on this and have got a little understanding but would be handy if i could get a step by step help so i dont fry the lot. My timings 6-6-6-18. I would like to get to 3.2

Kl2amer

Distinguished
Dec 6, 2008
You should have no issue going to 3.2ghz by just increasing the front side bus to 400mhz. This will not be an issue for your Ram as it will keep your ram at 800 mhz, so no issue for the loose timings you have. You probably won't even have to increase your core voltage at all. I have been running my e6750 at 3.2 for the last year without increasing the voltage. temps stay pretty low, maybe getting to 60 when playing crisis or doing stress testing, but my case is not exactly the coolest.

Larkie

Distinguished
Dec 6, 2008
Thanks i will try what would you say my timing should be then at 2.66ghz Thanks for your time i will try it right now

Kl2amer

Distinguished
Dec 6, 2008
What EXACTLY did you change "up"? You should not need to change anything except the front side bus for your CPU from within your bios. Try taking it to 375mhz first. Then once it boots up properly take it to 400. you definitely should not need to mess with voltage to get to 3ghz and more than likely won't need to for 3.2ghz, but start lower then higher.

Kl2amer

Distinguished
Dec 6, 2008
that takes your processor to 2.7ghz. a minor increase. The relationship between fsb and external cpu frequency is in fourths. your cpu has a bus/core ratio of 8. so if you take 1353.3/4 you get your external cpu frequency. Then multiply that times the cpu multiplier of 8 and you get 2.706 as the speed of the processor. a QDR increase to 1500 would translate to 3.0 ghz for your cpu.