Question Ethernet connected and shows internet connection but still not work?

Apr 19, 2021
14
0
10
0
I finished my new PC build and installed Windows 10 on it from my USB drive and its able to boot fine. However, the Internet doesn't work at all but it says I am connected. Whenever I open up the browser it just infinitely loads and typing any other url in the search bar doesnt load either. My data usage shows 3 Mb. I have an Asus crosshair VIII hero motherboard and have tried but the 2.5 Gig ethernet port and the 1 gig port. I do use an ethernet adapter because my xfinity router is downstairs and I've even tried new cables in case the old ones were at fault. I have tried everything and still cant fix this. I've moved my PC downstairs and tried hooking it up directly to the router in case it was the adapter. I've messed around in the command prompt with every type of ipconfig command and netsh command. None this was happening to my old PC in this same network setup 3 days ago. Please I need help! I just wanna enjoy my new PC :(
 
Last edited:
Apr 19, 2021
14
0
10
0
I've tried almost everything in bios and with device manager and looking at the network adapter too. Uninstalling devices and reinstalling drives, power management, etc.
 
Apr 19, 2021
14
0
10
0
Start by opening a cmd.exe window and running ipconfig.exe /all
Post the results.
How is the PC connected "downstairs" ? In wall cable? Wall plates? Cable running down the stairs?
Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : DESKTOP-U28A4JJ
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : hsd1.in.comcast.net

Ethernet adapter Ethernet 2:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek PCIe 2.5GbE Family Controller
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 3C-7C-3F-81-79-E8
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Ethernet adapter Ethernet:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : hsd1.in.comcast.net
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) I211 Gigabit Network Connection
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 3C-7C-3F-81-79-E7
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2601:243:cc80:80a0::3354(Preferred)
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Monday, April 19, 2021 5:49:34 PM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Monday, April 26, 2021 3:52:56 PM
IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2601:243:cc80:80a0:3039:ce07:61ca:d5a9(Preferred)
Temporary IPv6 Address. . . . . . : 2601:243:cc80:80a0:7d74:393a:20c4:8cdf(Preferred)
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::3039:ce07:61ca:d5a9%3(Preferred)
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 10.0.0.74(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Monday, April 19, 2021 5:49:32 PM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Wednesday, April 21, 2021 5:49:32 PM
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : fe80::226:86ff:fe54:4634%3
10.0.0.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 10.0.0.1
DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 54295615
DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-28-0F-C2-1F-3C-7C-3F-81-79-E7
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:558:feed::1
2001:558:feed::2
8.8.8.8
8.8.4.4
2001:558:feed::1
2001:558:feed::2
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled


My internet downstairs is my xfinity modem with my netgear adapter plugged into the ethernet port and then connected to the wall outlet. The second adapted is in the outlet upstairs by my PC setup. All the lights on the adapters show there is connection and when I plug the ethernet into my PC it shows a orange light and green blinking light.
 
Apr 19, 2021
14
0
10
0
Rerun the ipconfig command. Everything looks reasonable. Can you ping 8.8.8.8 ?
Heres the ipconfig

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : DESKTOP-U28A4JJ
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : hsd1.in.comcast.net

Ethernet adapter Ethernet 2:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek PCIe 2.5GbE Family Controller
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 3C-7C-3F-81-79-E8
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Ethernet adapter Ethernet:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : hsd1.in.comcast.net
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) I211 Gigabit Network Connection
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 3C-7C-3F-81-79-E7
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 10.0.0.74(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Monday, April 19, 2021 6:22:02 PM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Wednesday, April 21, 2021 6:22:03 PM
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 10.0.0.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 10.0.0.1
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 8.8.8.8
8.8.4.4
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled


Here's what it shows when I ping 8.8.8.8


Pinging 8.8.8.8 with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 8.8.8.8: bytes=32 time=12ms TTL=116
Reply from 8.8.8.8: bytes=32 time=11ms TTL=116
Reply from 8.8.8.8: bytes=32 time=11ms TTL=116
Reply from 8.8.8.8: bytes=32 time=11ms TTL=116

Ping statistics for 8.8.8.8:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 11ms, Maximum = 12ms, Average = 11ms
 

kanewolf

Titan
Moderator
Heres the ipconfig

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : DESKTOP-U28A4JJ
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : hsd1.in.comcast.net

Ethernet adapter Ethernet 2:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek PCIe 2.5GbE Family Controller
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 3C-7C-3F-81-79-E8
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Ethernet adapter Ethernet:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : hsd1.in.comcast.net
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) I211 Gigabit Network Connection
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 3C-7C-3F-81-79-E7
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 10.0.0.74(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Monday, April 19, 2021 6:22:02 PM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Wednesday, April 21, 2021 6:22:03 PM
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 10.0.0.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 10.0.0.1
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 8.8.8.8
8.8.4.4
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled


Here's what it shows when I ping 8.8.8.8


Pinging 8.8.8.8 with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 8.8.8.8: bytes=32 time=12ms TTL=116
Reply from 8.8.8.8: bytes=32 time=11ms TTL=116
Reply from 8.8.8.8: bytes=32 time=11ms TTL=116
Reply from 8.8.8.8: bytes=32 time=11ms TTL=116

Ping statistics for 8.8.8.8:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 11ms, Maximum = 12ms, Average = 11ms
If you can ping 8.8.8.8 consistently, then your internet IS working. You r DNS looks correct. If you still have connectivity issues, it has to be a software problem in Windows.
Have you run a virus and malware scan ?
 
Apr 19, 2021
14
0
10
0
If you can ping 8.8.8.8 consistently, then your internet IS working. You r DNS looks correct. If you still have connectivity issues, it has to be a software problem in Windows.
Have you run a virus and malware scan ?
I did get my key for windows 10 off of G2A. Could it be cause my key isnt genuine? I dont know if it would block my internet like this but I was just thinking.
 

kanewolf

Titan
Moderator
I did get my key for windows 10 off of G2A. Could it be cause my key isnt genuine? I dont know if it would block my internet like this but I was just thinking.
I don't believe that would cause this problem. But I don't deal with gray market Windows licenses.
You can boot a portable linux USB and validate your connectivity. But with pings of 8.8.8.8 working, that says you have external connectivity. Your DNS is set to 8.8.8.8 which should allow you to lookup URLs. So I don't have an obvious explanation.
 
Apr 19, 2021
14
0
10
0
I don't believe that would cause this problem. But I don't deal with gray market Windows licenses.
You can boot a portable linux USB and validate your connectivity. But with pings of 8.8.8.8 working, that says you have external connectivity. Your DNS is set to 8.8.8.8 which should allow you to lookup URLs. So I don't have an obvious explanation.
I return! I have some new information and I'm not sure if this helps narrow down how to fix it, but I took my PC into best buy. When they connected the power and ethernet and turned it on it worked 100%. I was able to download drivers and windows update, go on YouTube, and do everything I wanted. I took it back home and it's still having tho same problems tho. So I know it has to do with my own internet and not hardware or bad ports or anything. IDK if that helps or leads to any suggestions but thought I would mention.
 

kanewolf

Titan
Moderator
I return! I have some new information and I'm not sure if this helps narrow down how to fix it, but I took my PC into best buy. When they connected the power and ethernet and turned it on it worked 100%. I was able to download drivers and windows update, go on YouTube, and do everything I wanted. I took it back home and it's still having tho same problems tho. So I know it has to do with my own internet and not hardware or bad ports or anything. IDK if that helps or leads to any suggestions but thought I would mention.
I think you need to try a cmd window and run nslookup.exe www.google.com
 

kanewolf

Titan
Moderator
I think you need to try a cmd window and run nslookup.exe www.google.com
Can you manually verify the IP of your primary router? One other thought I had was that you could have multiple DHCP servers. Post #8 showed an IP address of 10.0.0.74 -- IF your primary router is in a different subnet, then you have a second DHCP server which is responding to your PC before the primary router.
 
Apr 19, 2021
14
0
10
0
Can you manually verify the IP of your primary router? One other thought I had was that you could have multiple DHCP servers. Post #8 showed an IP address of 10.0.0.74 -- IF your primary router is in a different subnet, then you have a second DHCP server which is responding to your PC before the primary router.
I can hop on my xfinity home app in my phone and in the advanced settings it shows...

WAN IP address: <public IP removed by moderator>
LAN
Local IP (IPv4)
Gateway address: 10.0.0.1
Subnet Mask: 255.255.255.0

DHCP Server
DHCP start range 10.0.0.2
DHCP end range 10.0.0.253
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Apr 19, 2021
14
0
10
0
Also when I do ipconfig /all my ethernet IPv4 address shows 10.0.0.75 (preferred). DNS server says 10.0.0.1, I'm not sure if that would affect anything if the DHCP start range is set to 10.0.0.2
 
Apr 19, 2021
14
0
10
0
Update: I replaced my xfinity gateway with a netgear C7100v modem router combo and can now access the internet successfully. My speeds are extremely low for download though. Using the xfinity speed test its showing only 70 mbs download speed where the laptop downstairs which is using ethernet shows 500 mbps download. This speed is obviously noticeable and wont work for gaming/streaming.
 

ASK THE COMMUNITY

TRENDING THREADS