[SOLVED] Far Cry 5 High CPU Usage / Temperature

Feb 7, 2020
I hope this isn't a redundant post but I just started playing Far Cry 5 so this is new to me. I'm seeing high CPU usage/temperature when playing Far Cry 5. The CPU fan is spinning like crazy! It's not overheating, but it's close! I've played Red Dead Redemption 2, The Outer Worlds, Control, Metro Exodus, etc. all on Ultra High settings with 100 to 140+ FPS without this problem. It only happens with Far Cry 5. I've lowered the settings to Normal and tried limiting the FPS to 60 but it didn't help. Anyone have any other suggestions? Here's my system info:

Operating System: Windows 10 Home 64-bit
CPU: 8th Generation Intel Core i7-8700 6-Core Processor (12MB Cache, up to 4.6 GHz)
RAM: 16 GB
Graphics: 4GB ATI AMD Radeon RX 570
Storage: 256 GB SSD

I'd appreciate any assistance with this. Thanks!

Solution
... high CPU usage/temperature ... It's not overheating, but it's close! ... only happens with Far Cry 5 ... i7-8700 ...
elvis812,

On behalf of Tom's Moderator Team, welcome aboard!

••• Please define what "not overheating" means in terms of specific Core temperatures.

You can't depend on Task Manager or utilities such as MSI Afterburner to be anywhere near accurate concerning CPU "usage" or "utilization", since they won't tell you if your CPU is in an actual overloaded or underloaded "workload" condition.

For example, actual workload conditions among different "game" titles vary widely, just as they do among different "stress" tests. Here’s a comparison...

CosmicDance

Notable
Jun 11, 2019
Far Cry 5 is very CPU intensive as opposed to Red Dead 2 which on my Ryzen 3700X I can run in Windows Power Saver mode at 2200 MHZ just fine as it is more GPU intensive.

As FC5 is pushing your CPU hard and you are close to overheating you probably have a cooling issue.
Check your temperature with the side of your PC case off to see if it is a ventilation issue.
If it's considerably cooler then more fans may help.