Feather Falling and Belayed companions

Page 4 - Seeking answers? Join the Tom's Hardware community: where nearly two million members share solutions and discuss the latest tech.
Archived from groups: rec.games.frp.dnd (More info?)

Loren Pechtel wrote:
>
> On Sat, 28 May 2005 19:09:17 -0700, Senator Blutarsky
> <monarchy@comcast.net> wrote:
>
> >The DRAGON keeps him in the air, you idiot! Or
> >doesn't, in which case they *both* drop like stones!
> >
> >Seriously, what the hell is wrong with your brain?
>
> The dragon can choose to drop like a stone and then recover. However,
> by the logic being presented here the fly spell is gone and the wizard
> keeps on falling.

By the logic presented BY WHOM? Hint: it ain't any of
*us* arguing with Goslin! AFAIK, only MSB has
suggested that the Fly spell would necessarily end, and
ONLY if the wizard were so stupid as to attempt a
move-fly action while so "encumbered."

-Bluto
 
Archived from groups: rec.games.frp.dnd (More info?)

Jeff Goslin wrote:
>
> "Senator Blutarsky" <monarchy@comcast.net> wrote in message
> news:4299244D.CA50B8ED@comcast.net...
> >
> > So, in *your* game, a human being grappled by a hill
> > giant takes a -6 check penalty on his Escape Artist
> > check to escape from the grapple because he's "carrying
> > a heavy load" (i.e., the giant)?
>
> No. Two free standing people grappling is a different matter. However, if
> the Giant were to SIT on the character, then YES, there would be a weight
> penalty to escape from the (I guess it would be) "pin".

Thank you for proving beyond any shadow of a doubt that
you are a hopeless idiot. I can now ignore any further
responses from you, secure in the knowledge that I'd
have greater success trying to teach my *cat* how to
play D&D than I would teaching you.

-Bluto
 
Archived from groups: rec.games.frp.dnd (More info?)

On Sun, 29 May 2005 06:14:12 -0400, "Jeff Goslin" <autockr@comcast.net>
scribed into the ether:

>"Matt Frisch" <matuse73@yahoo.spam.me.not.com> wrote in message
>news:rc0j91tkp5jfo9v6scttsjbuijlsnp4f6l@4ax.com...
>> >Well, I won't spare you that attempt. I agree that grappling is
>different
>> >from carrying, but if the wizard doesn't do something to move out of the
>> >way, all a dragon has to do is grapple the wizard, then let go and drop,
>>
>> So in the same breath that you agree they are different, you proceed to
>> give them equivalence. Go you.
>
>Huh? The grapple is only included as a game mechanism to indicate that the
>dragon is successfully sitting on top of the wizard in some manner.

Sitting on top of the wizard is not the wizard carrying the dragon.

> The
>fly spell would be overpowered, the wizard would be effectively "carrying"
>the dragon, and the spell would end, according to this as yet uncovered
>"rule" that everyone says exists that nobody can find.

Effectively carrying is not the same thing as actually carrying.

>> > If he's high enough, he can go for a full
>> >round without flying, drop about 1000 feet or so, and be done with the
>> >wizard, during which time,
>>
>> They probably hit the ground...
>
>Dragons don't fly too high in your game, I guess.

No, more like players do not fly too high, and if the dragon is in contact
with the character, then the dragon isn't very high either.

> Bear in mind that all it
>takes is but an INSTANT of overweightedness, for this "rule" you keep
>clinging to (but can never find) to apply.

Actually, I've already said that this is not the case.

>> >Why not do it all? You seem to be focussing on how silly it would be to
>> >JUST end the fly spell, and honestly, if I were a dragon, I would go all
>out
>> >to kill the wizard, and do everything in my power to get it done,
>including
>> >breathing on him and then dropping him just to make sure.
>>
>> Or you could breathe on him again, or eat him, and be sure that way.
>> Dropping a spellcaster is hardly making sure. Hell, if he has a ring of
>> feather falling (or the appropriate contingency spell), he doesn't even
>> need to be concious to not die.
>
>I guess this is a problem for wizards of slightly LESS than
>grand-uber-poohbah-super-duper-wizard-sorcerer-o-plenty-o-magic that YOU are
>assuming we're talking about. Contingency? Damn, boy, what's that take,
>like a 15th level wizard or something? For the record, I was thinking about
>more along the lines of 5th-ish level wizards.

Feather fall is quite a bit lower. Rings of feather falling are cheap.
Contingency was simply another option, and not the default assumption. The
point remains: Dropping a wizard is not by any stretch of the imagination a
guaranteed way of killing him, particularly not compared to a breath weapon
or consumption.

> If the guy doesn't have another fly spell, it's just a way for him
>to prolong the inevitable. 😉 Besides, what self respecting wizard would
>have multiple fly spells? Everyone knows it's fireball and lightning bolt!

The self-respecting wizard who is fighting a dragon...if I were a dragon
going after a flying wizard, I'd just sit out of spell range and wait for
his fly to wear off, and then hit him on the ground.
 
Archived from groups: rec.games.frp.dnd (More info?)

On Sun, 29 May 2005 17:01:13 GMT, "Richard Fielding"
<richard.f@blueyonder.spam?no.co.uk> scribed into the ether:

>
>"Matt Frisch" <matuse73@yahoo.spam.me.not.com> wrote
>in message news:rc0j91tkp5jfo9v6scttsjbuijlsnp4f6l@4ax.com...
>> On Sun, 29 May 2005 03:45:56 -0400, "Jeff Goslin"
>> <autockr@comcast.net> scribed into the ether:
>
><snip stuff about fly spell failing due to being over loaded>
>
>> Further, we have this little gem from the spell description:
>>
>> Should the spell duration expire while the subject is still
>> aloft, the magic fails slowly. The subject floats downward
>> 60 feet per round for 1d6 rounds. If it reaches the ground
>> in that amount of time, it lands safely. If not, it falls
>> the rest of the distance, taking 1d6 points of damage per 10
>> feet of fall. Since dispelling a spell effectively ends it,
>> the subject also descends in this way if the fly spell is
>> dispelled, but not if it is negated by an antimagic field.
>>
>> So it isn't as though the overweighted spell user is falling like a stone.
>
>Read the first and last sentences of this description and explain why this
>is relevant. The fly spell is overloaded, but its duration has not expired,
>and it has not been dispelled; there is no reason to suppose any of the
>paragraph applies to this particular situation.

Strange world where being over-encumbered is the same thing as walking into
an anti-magic field. The function of the spell is halted, so the spell
fails. There are 2 possibilities for the spell failing: Slow fall, and
plummet. Plummet requires anti-magic, therefore anything not anti-magic is
a slow fall.
 
Archived from groups: rec.games.frp.dnd (More info?)

"Matt Frisch" <matuse73@yahoo.spam.me.not.com> wrote in message
news:duik911vqlc87n6aghodv68snform667hf@4ax.com...

> On Sun, 29 May 2005 17:01:13 GMT, "Richard Fielding"
> <richard.f@blueyonder.spam?no.co.uk> scribed into the ether:
>
>>"Matt Frisch" <matuse73@yahoo.spam.me.not.com> wrote
>>in message news:rc0j91tkp5jfo9v6scttsjbuijlsnp4f6l@4ax.com...
>><snip stuff about fly spell failing due to being over loaded>
>>
>>> Further, we have this little gem from the spell description:
>>>
>>> Should the spell duration expire while the subject is still
>>> aloft, the magic fails slowly. The subject floats downward
>>> 60 feet per round for 1d6 rounds. If it reaches the ground
>>> in that amount of time, it lands safely. If not, it falls
>>> the rest of the distance, taking 1d6 points of damage per 10
>>> feet of fall. Since dispelling a spell effectively ends it,
>>> the subject also descends in this way if the fly spell is
>>> dispelled, but not if it is negated by an antimagic field.
>>>
>>> So it isn't as though the overweighted spell user is falling like a
>>> stone.
>>
>>Read the first and last sentences of this description and explain why this
>>is relevant. The fly spell is overloaded, but its duration has not
>>expired,
>>and it has not been dispelled; there is no reason to suppose any of the
>>paragraph applies to this particular situation.
>
> Strange world where being over-encumbered is the same thing as walking
> into
> an anti-magic field. The function of the spell is halted, so the spell
> fails. There are 2 possibilities for the spell failing: Slow fall, and
> plummet. Plummet requires anti-magic, therefore anything not anti-magic is
> a slow fall.

a) /Flying/ into an antimagic field :)
b) Strange world where humans can fly by the power of magic :)

Besides, I fail to follow your logic.

The spell description includes text explaining how the subject will only
fall slowly (for a short time) after the duration of the spell has expired
or the spell has been dispelled [1]. If it did not state this then we would
assume the subject would simply fall when the spell ended. It also describes
what happens in an antimagic field, and, surprise surprise, the subject
falls.

Now we come to the situation we are talking about: the subject becomes over
encumbered mid duration. I have not seen any rule claiming that the spell is
dispelled, or that it's duration has expired. In fact, from the rules quoted
so far I have no indication as to what happens. From the various opinions
quoted so far the general consensus seems to be that the spell fails. Not
"is dispelled", not "its duration expires" fails; this leaves the subject of
the fly spell no longer the subject of a fly spell, and without the clause
granting him a nice slow fall applying to them. Hmmmm. Wonder what happens
to our hapless subject?

Now in the part of my previous post that you sniped, I suggested what the
rule about what happens when a spell fails mid-duration could possibly look
like. You will note that I suggested that it could end the spell as if its
duration had expired (this would give a slow fall for the over-encumbered).
Another possibility would be to say that if a spell exceeded its limits then
the spell functions as if it were in and antimagic field until its limits
are no longer exceeded (plummet until you drop something). Neither of these
possibilities is in contradiction to any of the rules presented so far, and
neither would be an unreasonable way of playing. Equally, neither is backed
up by anything in the rules; both produce equally valid and totally
different results.

[1] note that dispelling a spell ends it "as if its duration had expired",
so the inclusion of dispelling in the slow falling description is simply a
reminder on how dispel magic works.

--
all the best,
RF
 
Archived from groups: rec.games.frp.dnd (More info?)

On Mon, 30 May 2005 01:03:51 GMT, "Richard Fielding"
<richard.f@blueyonder.spam?no.co.uk> scribed into the ether:

>"Matt Frisch" <matuse73@yahoo.spam.me.not.com> wrote in message
>news:duik911vqlc87n6aghodv68snform667hf@4ax.com...
>

>>>Read the first and last sentences of this description and explain why this
>>>is relevant. The fly spell is overloaded, but its duration has not
>>>expired,
>>>and it has not been dispelled; there is no reason to suppose any of the
>>>paragraph applies to this particular situation.
>>
>> Strange world where being over-encumbered is the same thing as walking
>> into
>> an anti-magic field. The function of the spell is halted, so the spell
>> fails. There are 2 possibilities for the spell failing: Slow fall, and
>> plummet. Plummet requires anti-magic, therefore anything not anti-magic is
>> a slow fall.
>
>a) /Flying/ into an antimagic field :)

Aerial combat with a beholder. A mounted spellcaster casting anti-magic
shell. "Flying" 2 feet off the ground...

>b) Strange world where humans can fly by the power of magic :)

Not really. No stranger than the lift forces which allow real world
aircraft to fly.

>The spell description includes text explaining how the subject will only
>fall slowly (for a short time) after the duration of the spell has expired
>or the spell has been dispelled [1]. If it did not state this then we would
>assume the subject would simply fall when the spell ended. It also describes
>what happens in an antimagic field, and, surprise surprise, the subject
>falls.

Which means that even when the spell ceases to operate, but that magic is
still possible, that the spell actually DOES continue to operate, since the
flier doesn't plummet. Only when magic is an impossibility does the spell
so utterly fail.
 
Archived from groups: rec.games.frp.dnd (More info?)

"Matt Frisch" <matuse73@yahoo.spam.me.not.com> wrote in message
news:dfik91lp4mkgb1ldrnunbs7l0m94p6104b@4ax.com...
> > The
> >fly spell would be overpowered, the wizard would be effectively
"carrying"
> >the dragon, and the spell would end, according to this as yet uncovered
> >"rule" that everyone says exists that nobody can find.
>
> Effectively carrying is not the same thing as actually carrying.

That's fine by me, but then the originally posted rule that was used as the
reason for feather fall's failure wouldn't apply either. If "effectively
carrying" is not the same thing as "actually carrying", the featherfallling
character holding up the other X characters in the fall is only "effectively
carrying" his companions, and if it's not reason enough for the fly spell to
fail, I can't see that it's reason enough for the feather fall to fail
either.

So, yeah, I'm sure that MSB and Senator Blutarsky appreciate your removing
the only rule they DID come up with from being even remotely applicable.
They thought it applied for the reasons laid out before, but this particular
interpretation negates even THAT rule from applying. If effective weight is
not considered for spell failure, then the feather fall wouldn't
catastrophically fail at all, even if that rule applied, since the
parameters of the spell would only be EFFECTIVELY exceeded, and not ACTUALLY
exceeded.

> point remains: Dropping a wizard is not by any stretch of the imagination
a
> guaranteed way of killing him, particularly not compared to a breath
weapon
> or consumption.

While I would agree with your assessment, it is quite far removed from the
point. I'm more than willing to agree with the opinion stated, even though
it's hardly germane to the conversation's real point.

--
Jeff Goslin - MCSD - www.goslin.info
It's not a god complex when you're always right
 
Archived from groups: rec.games.frp.dnd (More info?)

"Senator Blutarsky" <monarchy@comcast.net> wrote in message
news:429A9EC7.EFA6B71F@comcast.net...
> > No. Two free standing people grappling is a different matter. However,
if
> > the Giant were to SIT on the character, then YES, there would be a
weight
> > penalty to escape from the (I guess it would be) "pin".
>
> Thank you for proving beyond any shadow of a doubt that
> you are a hopeless idiot. I can now ignore any further
> responses from you, secure in the knowledge that I'd
> have greater success trying to teach my *cat* how to
> play D&D than I would teaching you.

It sounds to me that you WOULDN'T allow the weight of a 1500 pound giant
sitting on a 200 pound man to be taken into consideration when trying to
escape from a giant who decides for some reason to bellyflop on you and pin
you down. Likewise, that tells me all I need to know about YOUR game. It's
been nice talking to you.

--
Jeff Goslin - MCSD - www.goslin.info
It's not a god complex when you're always right
 
Archived from groups: rec.games.frp.dnd (More info?)

In article <me-BF98FE.10281629052005@news01.comindico.com.au>,
Kevin Lowe <me@private.net> wrote:

> In article <TuSdnRxMvrhBcAXfRVn-oQ@comcast.com>,
> "Jeff Goslin" <autockr@comcast.net> wrote:
>
> > "Michael Scott Brown" <mistermichael@earthlink.net> wrote in message
> > news:lZ0me.2133$MI4.113@newsread2.news.pas.earthlink.net...
> > > "Jeff Goslin" <autockr@comcast.net> wrote in message
> > > news:l_qdnZBs9_07mwXfRVn-iw@comcast.com...
> > > > Thus far, I haven't seen a *RULE* that supports the interpretation that
> > is
> > > > being put forth,
> > >
> > > Do you really wish to contend that the text of Feather Fall does not
> > > explain exactly the conditions under which it can operate?
> >
> > No, the conditions of it's standard operation are fairly clear. The only
> > thing that's NOT clear is what happens when the conditions are exceeded.
> > Find that rule for us, please.
>
> What he said.
>
> (Who would have thought I of all people would say that in response to
> Jeff Goslin? It is a funny old world).

I'm replying to myself here, because MSB and Frisch seem to have
vanished.

Guys, what gives? Where is our cite? Where do the rules say what
happens when the casting requirements of an existing spell are exceeded?

--
Kevin Lowe,
Tasmania.
 
Archived from groups: rec.games.frp.dnd (More info?)

In article <OKednev-UOvEQAffRVn-jA@comcast.com>,
"Jeff Goslin" <autockr@comcast.net> wrote:

> "Senator Blutarsky" <monarchy@comcast.net> wrote in message
> news:429A9EC7.EFA6B71F@comcast.net...
> >
> > Thank you for proving beyond any shadow of a doubt that
> > you are a hopeless idiot. I can now ignore any further
> > responses from you, secure in the knowledge that I'd
> > have greater success trying to teach my *cat* how to
> > play D&D than I would teaching you.
>
> It sounds to me that you WOULDN'T allow the weight of a 1500 pound giant
> sitting on a 200 pound man to be taken into consideration when trying to
> escape from a giant who decides for some reason to bellyflop on you and pin
> you down. Likewise, that tells me all I need to know about YOUR game. It's
> been nice talking to you.

The giant already gets a hefty bonus to its grapple checks because of
its strength and size. So it will probably win anyway.

3.x never really pretended to be a realistic system, but if it was
trying to be one then you would be perfectly right to argue that a
pinned opponent is bearing the weight of their attacker and so should
take any relevant penalties to their Escape Artist checks. In the rules
as written they take no such penalty, but that's the least of DnDs
problems.

I do Brazilian jiujitsu, and I can tell you from first-hand experience
that it is substantially harder to wriggle out from under a heavier
opponent than a lighter one, and the idea of wriggling out from under
someone who is superhumanly large and heavy (like an ogre or giant) is
pure fantasy. Fortunately this is a fantasy game.

--
Kevin Lowe,
Tasmania.
 
Archived from groups: rec.games.frp.dnd (More info?)

"Kevin Lowe" <me@private.net> wrote in message
news:me-4ED125.22065130052005@news01.comindico.com.au...
> The giant already gets a hefty bonus to its grapple checks because of
> its strength and size. So it will probably win anyway.

As noted previously, I'm not a 3E player, so resolving a pin by a giant on a
human would result in "serious penalties for the human to escape". If that
is modelled in 3E by size and strength bonuses, then the net effect would
probably be approximately the same in both a "by the book" 3E game and my
campaign. It just sounded to me like the giant's considerable heft wouldn't
be taken into consideration, from the tenor of the post my statement was in
response to. But if it actually is at some point along the road, then I'm
sure that we're both approximating the net result similarly, even if the
previous poster wanted to find some reason, any reason, to refer to me as
moronic. 😉

--
Jeff Goslin - MCSD - www.goslin.info
It's not a god complex when you're always right
 
Archived from groups: rec.games.frp.dnd (More info?)

On Mon, 30 May 2005 11:06:59 GMT, Kevin Lowe <me@private.net> scribed into
the ether:

>In article <me-BF98FE.10281629052005@news01.comindico.com.au>,
> Kevin Lowe <me@private.net> wrote:
>
>> In article <TuSdnRxMvrhBcAXfRVn-oQ@comcast.com>,
>> "Jeff Goslin" <autockr@comcast.net> wrote:
>>
>> > "Michael Scott Brown" <mistermichael@earthlink.net> wrote in message
>> > news:lZ0me.2133$MI4.113@newsread2.news.pas.earthlink.net...
>> > > "Jeff Goslin" <autockr@comcast.net> wrote in message
>> > > news:l_qdnZBs9_07mwXfRVn-iw@comcast.com...
>> > > > Thus far, I haven't seen a *RULE* that supports the interpretation that
>> > is
>> > > > being put forth,
>> > >
>> > > Do you really wish to contend that the text of Feather Fall does not
>> > > explain exactly the conditions under which it can operate?
>> >
>> > No, the conditions of it's standard operation are fairly clear. The only
>> > thing that's NOT clear is what happens when the conditions are exceeded.
>> > Find that rule for us, please.
>>
>> What he said.
>>
>> (Who would have thought I of all people would say that in response to
>> Jeff Goslin? It is a funny old world).
>
>I'm replying to myself here, because MSB and Frisch seem to have
>vanished.

Or your newsfeed is on the blink...

>Guys, what gives? Where is our cite? Where do the rules say what
>happens when the casting requirements of an existing spell are exceeded?

I did locate the section on Abjurations, and what happens if you try and
push around an aligned creature using a circle of protection:

If you force the barrier against such a creature, you feel a discernible
pressure against the barrier. If you continue to apply pressure, you break
the spell.

Adding weight to a flier could easily be looked at in the same way.
 
Archived from groups: rec.games.frp.dnd (More info?)

"Matt Frisch" <matuse73@yahoo.spam.me.not.com> wrote in message
news:ql7m9152k1gun75d99g0jl808scetsvhtb@4ax.com...
> >Guys, what gives? Where is our cite? Where do the rules say what
> >happens when the casting requirements of an existing spell are exceeded?
>
> I did locate the section on Abjurations, and what happens if you try and
> push around an aligned creature using a circle of protection:
>
> If you force the barrier against such a creature, you feel a discernible
> pressure against the barrier. If you continue to apply pressure, you break
> the spell.
>
> Adding weight to a flier could easily be looked at in the same way.

So, in other words, the previously made claims that there is "a rule" that
describes what happens in the general case aren't quite accurate(ala spell
failure when the initial conditions are exceeded)?

Yes, I understand that certain rules can be applied in certain
circumstances, and that by virtue of extrapolation, you can make somewhat
logical inferences and guesstimates as to how this would apply in other
circumstances, but at the end of the day, it's simply an interpretation,
right?

If that's the case, it means that your interpretation is simply that, and
that despite your admonitions that it's a rule, when push comes to shove,
there is no general rule to cover what is happening. Everything is suddenly
all too clear, and yet completely not at the same time. 😉

--
Jeff Goslin - MCSD - www.goslin.info
It's not a god complex when you're always right
 
Archived from groups: rec.games.frp.dnd (More info?)

Kevin Lowe wrote:
>
> Guys, what gives? Where is our cite? Where do the rules say what
> happens when the casting requirements of an existing spell are exceeded?

The "casting requirements" are irrelevant. The
question is: can a spell do more than what it says it
is limited to doing? And the answer is...

OF COURSE NOT!

-Bluto
 
Archived from groups: rec.games.frp.dnd (More info?)

Just so my position is clear:


I am trying to point out that no rule presented so far actually applies in
the situation described; much less even provides a description as to what
happens in such a situation.

I am not trying to argue that one particular way of resolving the situation
is better than any other, simply that they are all equally unsupported by
the rules presented in the discussion so far.


Apologies for this top posted section, but I felt it was best to say this
here, before replying to the rest of the post.






"Matt Frisch" <matuse73@yahoo.spam.me.not.com> wrote in message
news:g7vk9196ga49l02t6rquvgafakb6j7trjg@4ax.com...
> On Mon, 30 May 2005 01:03:51 GMT, "Richard Fielding"
> <richard.f@blueyonder.spam?no.co.uk> scribed into the ether:
>
>>"Matt Frisch" <matuse73@yahoo.spam.me.not.com> wrote in message
>>news:duik911vqlc87n6aghodv68snform667hf@4ax.com...

>>> Strange world where being over-encumbered is the same thing as walking
>>> into an anti-magic field. The function of the spell is halted, so the
>>> spell fails. There are 2 possibilities for the spell failing: Slow fall,
>>> and plummet. Plummet requires anti-magic, therefore anything not
>>> anti-magic is a slow fall.

I'll try again here. Read the description again.
Note that a slow fall option is allowed.
Now note the situations in which a slow fall is allowed; spell duration
expires, or spell dispelled (remember dispelling a spell ends it as if its
duration had expired).
Note that this is the /only/ situation in which the spell grants the subject
a slow fall.
Now note we have a situation where the spell duration has not expired, nor
has it been dispelled.
In fact, from the rules presented so far [1] it seems as if the spell fails
as if it had not been cast at all.
You may point out that the spell describes what happens when it encounters
an anti-magic field, (subject no longer supported by magic plummets) and
indeed it does.
How ever you seem to be claiming that the description of what happens in an
anti-magic field will /only/ happen in an anti-magic field.
If you read the description you will find that this is not the case; the
spell points out what happens to people who are unsupported by magic, and
only /points out/ that this occurs in an anti-magic field.
Plummeting, as is the norm for people unsupported by magic, may occur at
other points; the spell description simply neglects to motion them

>>a) /Flying/ into an antimagic field :)
>
> Aerial combat with a beholder. A mounted spellcaster casting anti-magic
> shell. "Flying" 2 feet off the ground...

Note the smiley; this was more picking a nit than anything like a serious
objection, or even a claim that this was an unlikely possibility.

>>b) Strange world where humans can fly by the power of magic :)
>
> Not really. No stranger than the lift forces which allow real world
> aircraft to fly.

So there is more than one type of strange world? No surprises there then.

Please recognise humour when it is pointed out to you. (Or even before if
you can!) It makes life so much more fun.

>>The spell description includes text explaining how the subject will only
>>fall slowly (for a short time) after the duration of the spell has expired
>>or the spell has been dispelled [1]. If it did not state this then we
>>would
>>assume the subject would simply fall when the spell ended. It also
>>describes
>>what happens in an antimagic field, and, surprise surprise, the subject
>>falls.
>
> Which means that even when the spell ceases to operate,

....due to its duration expiring (or being dispelled, which is equivalent to
its duration expiring), and for no other reason...

> but that magic is
> still possible, that the spell actually DOES continue to operate, since
> the
> flier doesn't plummet. Only when magic is an impossibility does the spell
> so utterly fail.

Remember that it is an impossibility for the fly spell to carry more than
its maximum load? In this case a fly spell is impossible, so assuming the
spell fails so utterly seems logical.




May I point out that you are reading between the lines here (to a fairly
sensible conclusion I may add), where as I am simply reading the rules as
they are put in front of me (with potentially weird results).

Simply put: you are assuming that a spell that becomes unable to cope ends
as if its duration had expired; whereas I am reading the rule that has been
presented, and finding that the spell seems to fail as if it had not been
cast at all, and the spell slot had simply been wasted.

The fact is, the rule my argument is based on is not really relevant (it
only applies as the spell is first cast), and the rule your argument is
based on is only relevant if you can find another rule (saying that spells
which are asked to do more than they are able to part way through their
duration will fail as if their duration had expired).

I believe that I understand where you are coming from, but so far it seems
as if you simply do not understand the point I a trying to make. Please let
me know if this is incorrect.


[1] note that this rule doesn't actually apply, since the spell has been
successfully cast already, but it is also the only rule presented as
relevant to the situation, so it's all we have to work with at the moment.


--
all the best,
RF
 
Archived from groups: rec.games.frp.dnd (More info?)

On Mon, 30 May 2005 13:12:58 -0400, "Jeff Goslin" <autockr@comcast.net>
scribed into the ether:

>"Matt Frisch" <matuse73@yahoo.spam.me.not.com> wrote in message
>news:ql7m9152k1gun75d99g0jl808scetsvhtb@4ax.com...
>> >Guys, what gives? Where is our cite? Where do the rules say what
>> >happens when the casting requirements of an existing spell are exceeded?
>>
>> I did locate the section on Abjurations, and what happens if you try and
>> push around an aligned creature using a circle of protection:
>>
>> If you force the barrier against such a creature, you feel a discernible
>> pressure against the barrier. If you continue to apply pressure, you break
>> the spell.
>>
>> Adding weight to a flier could easily be looked at in the same way.
>
>So, in other words, the previously made claims that there is "a rule" that
>describes what happens in the general case aren't quite accurate(ala spell
>failure when the initial conditions are exceeded)?

I have never made that claim. I just describe my best reaction to what
would occur.
 
Archived from groups: rec.games.frp.dnd (More info?)

"Senator Blutarsky" <monarchy@comcast.net> wrote in message
news:429B96C5.D158D5D2@comcast.net...
> Kevin Lowe wrote:
> >
> > Guys, what gives? Where is our cite? Where do the rules say what
> > happens when the casting requirements of an existing spell are exceeded?
>
> The "casting requirements" are irrelevant. The
> question is: can a spell do more than what it says it
> is limited to doing? And the answer is...
>
> OF COURSE NOT!

If it's so obvious, you should have no problem finding that rule.

It's already been shown that while the rule provided will obviously prevent
a spell from being cast where the INITIAL requirements are exceeded(thank
you for that rule, btw, whoever brought it up, I think it was you), there
has thus far been NO official rule to indicate what happens when a spell's
parameters are exceeded DURING the duration of the spell, but there have
been many dogmatically defended interpretations, on all sides.

While I agree with your assessment, that a spell that is exceeded in some
manner will fail, I do NOT think the appropriate thing is to have it
INSTANTLY fail, I believe the appropriate thing to do, if it is an ongoing
spell(ala fly, feather fall), is to have it's effectiveness reduced
proportionally to the excess. One pound over for the fly spell would make
it impossible to fly up, but it would not sink you like a stone. One pound
over would NOT cause an immediate cessation for a feather fall, but instead
would cause an increase in fall damage taken by the people falling. That
is, of course, MY interpretation. YMWV.

--
Jeff Goslin - MCSD - www.goslin.info
It's not a god complex when you're always right
 
Archived from groups: rec.games.frp.dnd (More info?)

"Senator Blutarsky" <monarchy@comcast.net> wrote in message
news:429B96C5.D158D5D2@comcast.net...
> Kevin Lowe wrote:
>>
>> Guys, what gives? Where is our cite? Where do the rules say what
>> happens when the casting requirements of an existing spell are exceeded?
>
> The "casting requirements" are irrelevant. The
> question is: can a spell do more than what it says it
> is limited to doing? And the answer is...
>
> OF COURSE NOT!
>
> -Bluto

I do not believe anyone is disagreeing with that. What is being asked for is
a rule that explains /how/ the spell fails to exceed its limits.

Does the spell end as if it's duration had expired?
Does the spell fail catastrophically as if none of the spell description
applied any longer?
Does the spell act as if it is operating within an antimagic field while its
conditions are exceeded, but return to full functionality if its limits are
met again?
Does it do something completely different to any of the above?

OF COURSE the spell cannot do more than it is limited to doing, but HOW does
it fail in doing it? Where is the rule that describes this situation?

This is the cite that is being asked for, and stubbornly refusing to appear,
almost as if it does not exist.

--
HTH,
RF
 
Archived from groups: rec.games.frp.dnd (More info?)

"Richard Fielding" <richard.f@blueyonder.spam?no.co.uk> wrote in message
news:2_Mme.49555$g12.17619@fe3.news.blueyonder.co.uk...
> OF COURSE the spell cannot do more than it is limited to doing, but HOW
does
> it fail in doing it? Where is the rule that describes this situation?
>
> This is the cite that is being asked for, and stubbornly refusing to
appear,
> almost as if it does not exist.

Yes, "almost"... it's "almost" as if it does not exist. One might be
tempted to draw that conclusion. Maybe. Just maybe.

--
Jeff Goslin - MCSD - www.goslin.info
It's not a god complex when you're always right
 
Archived from groups: rec.games.frp.dnd (More info?)

In article <429B96C5.D158D5D2@comcast.net>,
Senator Blutarsky <monarchy@comcast.net> wrote:

> Kevin Lowe wrote:
> >
> > Guys, what gives? Where is our cite? Where do the rules say what
> > happens when the casting requirements of an existing spell are exceeded?
>
> The "casting requirements" are irrelevant. The
> question is: can a spell do more than what it says it
> is limited to doing? And the answer is...
>
> OF COURSE NOT!

I am open to correction, but I did not think anyone is at the moment
actually arguing that you can get around the limitations of what a
Feather Fall can do by dangling your companions off you on belaying
ropes. So that is not the question at all.

The question is precisely what happens when a spell's limits are
exceeded, and I think it is looking more likely that there is no
canonical rule on the topic. Those who seemed certain such a rule
existed have either backed off or taken a leave of absence, and nobody
can find any section of the SRD or core books that addresses the issue.

There have been reasonable arguments put forward for the spell being
"dispelled", for the spell being ended absolutely as though by an
anti-magic field, for the spell being suppressed, and (although it opens
an ugly can of worms) the idea of spells having a partial effect also
has intuitive appeal.

--
Kevin Lowe,
Tasmania.
 
Archived from groups: rec.games.frp.dnd (More info?)

Michael Scott Brown wrote:
> <IHateLashknife@hotmail.com> wrote in message
> news:1117368777.422331.34520@g14g2000cwa.googlegroups.com...
> > Another thought about how Feather Fall works (SRD):
> > "The spell affects one or more Medium or smaller creatures (including
> > gear and carried objects up to each creature's maximum load)"
> >
> > This could be interpreted as saying that if you cast this on someone
> > who was falling and was overloaded in some way (e.g. tied to their
> > companions), there's no reason that you couldn't just target that
> > person and up to their maximum load worth of stuff, but not the rest of
> > their stuff (i.e. not their companions in this case).
>
> Idiot.

😱)

This from someone who tells other people to read the rules before they
post while simultaneously telling them about a rule that doesn't exist.
Irony.

😱)

> What about the part where THEY ARE TIED TO HIM don't you
> understand, exactly?

Why do you think I misunderstand that?

To paraphrase slightly, it says you target the creature including an
amount of carried 'stuff' _up_to_ their maximum load. It doesn't say
whether you _have_ to target anything in excess of that - who knows?
Maybe you do, maybe you don't. Of course if you target someone but not,
for example, their backpack (even though it may be within their maximum
load) then they'll still fall, but it would generally be very silly to
do so which is why it never comes up.

It really all depends on how you interpret the 'including':

Does it mean you're forced to target all their 'stuff'?
Or is it just telling you the upper limit on how much of their 'stuff'
you can successfully include?

I would suspect the first, but in the Barbarian & Chest example I gave
it makes more sense (IMO) for it to be the second. As the second gives
the caster a bit more control over the spell (i.e. doesn't force it to
fail as often) then I don't really see the problem in interpreting it
that way.

....

You may now call me an ignorant moron for putting forward an
alternative interpretation that you don't agree with, even though it's
you that doesn't know the rules 😱)
 
Archived from groups: rec.games.frp.dnd (More info?)

Michael Scott Brown wrote:
> Wow. Rules for what spells "still do" when THEY CANNOT WORK, missing
> from the game rules? AMAZING!
>
> Now, after a few days of home renovation, I've had some time to ponder
> examples, and I think that my instinct to "crack" the spell is perhaps
> overly harsh;

Now I could say...
So when can we expect you to call yourself an "Idiot"?

Or even...
Or telling yourself "Please do the newsgroup the courtesy of READING
THE F***ING RULES before posting to this thread."?

Of course, making up rules and then claiming they are real is far, far
worse than posting when you admit to not knowing what the rules are, so
I could even say...
Or maybe you should be even harsher on yourself that that.


Luckily I'm not a petty and small minded individual.

Actually, that's a lie, I really am. I shall await your apology to the
newsgroup with bated breath 😱)
 
Archived from groups: rec.games.frp.dnd (More info?)

"Jeff Goslin" <autockr@comcast.net> wrote in message
news:TuSdnRxMvrhBcAXfRVn-oQ@comcast.com...
> No, the conditions of it's standard operation are fairly clear. The only
> thing that's NOT clear is what happens when the conditions are exceeded.

<points>
<laughs>
NOT clear, what to do when trying to do something the spell says it
*cannot do*!

Goslin, you're *pathetic*. "Cannot" <> "can, but not as well". Cannot
means *can* *not*. The negation of can. Inability. Nonability. Not-true.
Nothing happening. Spell not working.

Have you explained to the newsgroup the secret Opus of alternative
spell rules that D&D "actually" contains by which we can determine exactly
in which way each spell works when its parameters are exceeded? How about
one of the group invisibility spells, that claims that if one of the
characters exceeds a certain distance from the others, the spell effects
ends for him. Did they really mean that? Or do you have some Deep Insight
into the mechanic by which you determine just how far they *really* meant
for the character to get, since going 1 foot beyond that limit CLEARLY would
only create a "reduced effect" in Goslin-land.

> Truth be told, I just don't have the patience to sift through the entire
SRD
> to try to find something that ISN'T in the obvious places where it would
> likely be(with the spell descriptions, etc). I've looked in the obvious
> places. I can't find it.

What's that? RULES FOR FEATHER FALL WORKING IN SOME REDUCED FASHION
WHEN OVERLOADED *CAN'T BE FOUND*? Why, it's almost as if they ... don't
exist!

-Michael
 
Archived from groups: rec.games.frp.dnd (More info?)

"Michael Scott Brown" <mistermichael@earthlink.net> wrote in message
news:nITme.4226$MI4.2404@newsread2.news.pas.earthlink.net...
> Have you explained to the newsgroup the secret Opus of alternative
> spell rules that D&D "actually" contains by which we can determine exactly
> in which way each spell works when its parameters are exceeded? How about

Let us point the spotlight on YOU, MSB. I, for one, freely admit that my
particular chosen method for resolving spell excesses is one that is
definitely NOT one that is found in any rule book. On the other hand, you
have spent a vast proportion of your responses telling everyone they are an
IDIOT for not reading the rules. So, I will submit to admitting to being
just such an idiot, as soon as you find the rule that applies to what
happens when spells are exceeded in mid-duration, rather than before they
are cast.

As far as "my method" goes, I'd have to say that while all spells are
different, many spells have a specific effect on game mechanics and a
specific limit. In any case where one is able to do so, exceeding a spell
would probably make it impossible for the spell to do what you REALLY want
it to, but it would only FAIL proportionally to how much over the limit it
was. For example, in the case of feather fall, if one CL1 person was
carrying 3 people's load, the spell would be overloaded by 3 people. Since
the spell can save ONE person effectively, trying to carry 3 people would
probably result in the damage from the fall increasing from 0% to 75%.
Another example, an overloaded flyer would never be able to ascend of his
own volition, but he would not plummet out of the sky, either. He'd descend
proportionately to how much overweight he was.

That's how *I* would do it, and no, it's not a rule in the book. However,
since it would appear that the great master of rules can't even tell me
definitively what happens(at least with any backing of authority, other than
what he envisions himself to have), I have to make up a rule for it. It
would appear that the great master of rules doesn't like the interpretation
I have, and hasn't thus far been able to quote a rule that exists to cover
this situation, so right now, the great master of rules is simply screaming
bluddy murder for it's own sake. I hope you're enjoying yourself.

On a somewhat directly related note, have you found that rule you said
covered this yet? If so, I'd appreciate reading it, and I'm sorry, you'll
have to forgive me, but no, I won't just take your word for it.

> one of the group invisibility spells, that claims that if one of the
> characters exceeds a certain distance from the others, the spell effects
> ends for him. Did they really mean that? Or do you have some Deep Insight
> into the mechanic by which you determine just how far they *really* meant
> for the character to get, since going 1 foot beyond that limit CLEARLY
would
> only create a "reduced effect" in Goslin-land.

Well, of course, I would expect you to focus on spells that can only be of a
binary nature, regardless of interpretation, because it's literally the ONLY
way for you to weasel into finding fault with what I have proposed. One is
either invisible or one is not, there's no such thing as "half-invisible".
On the other hand, things that are flying and overloaded, in the real world,
at least, don't tend to just "fall out of the sky". They tend to not be
able to maintain altitude, and eventually either land somewhat ungracefully
or crash if they can't control it, but it's NOT a simple plummetting.

> What's that? RULES FOR FEATHER FALL WORKING IN SOME REDUCED FASHION
> WHEN OVERLOADED *CAN'T BE FOUND*? Why, it's almost as if they ... don't
> exist!

They don't, at least not as far as I can tell. Then again, there is NO
generic rule for spells that I have found that deals directly with the
problem of an overloaded spell mid-duration. We thank the poster(I believe
it was Sen. Bluta.) who posted the rule about failure when the spell is
attempted, and fully submit that this is a recognized rule. Since there is
NOTHING stated about what happens, either complete failure or graceful
dissipation over time or anything else, one is forced to interpret. Your
interpretation differs from mine, as usual, and you are convinced that your
interpretation is the only intelligent one, of course. But, unfortunately,
you don't have a rule to back up your interpretation.

You're right about one thing: The rule for an overloaded feather fall can't
be found. Then again, the general rule for a generic overloaded spell, if
not handled explicitly in the spell description, can't be found either. So,
again, I implore you, find the rule that you have at your disposal through
which you are mocking us for our stupidity at not knowing, because honestly,
I'd like to see that rule for myself, so I know how to handle it.

It's sad that you still haven't found the rule that you say is so
blinkeredly obvious. I mean, I know I'm a retard and everything, but I
would think that a great mind such as yours would be able to support the
"rule" by something OTHER than sheer force of will. Like, oh, I don't know,
maybe something written down that comes from a recognized authority(SRD,
PHB, DMG, eg)?

--
Jeff Goslin - MCSD - www.goslin.info
It's not a god complex when you're always right
 
Archived from groups: rec.games.frp.dnd (More info?)

<IHateLashknife@hotmail.com> wrote in message
news:1117368777.422331.34520@g14g2000cwa.googlegroups.com...
> Another thought about how Feather Fall works (SRD):
> "The spell affects one or more Medium or smaller creatures (including
> gear and carried objects up to each creature's maximum load)"
>
> This could be interpreted as saying that if you cast this on someone
> who was falling and was overloaded in some way (e.g. tied to their
> companions), there's no reason that you couldn't just target that
> person and up to their maximum load worth of stuff, but not the rest of
> their stuff (i.e. not their companions in this case).

Idiot. What about the part where THEY ARE TIED TO HIM don't you
understand, exactly?

-Michael