Fellow Experts I need you to critique my setup and advise

Codeblue009

Distinguished
Feb 26, 2006
Hello everyone, I am new to the board and I like the diversity of opinions on here. There are some very informative people here. I just purchased an ASUS A8N-SLI NForce4 board, Athlon 64 X2 4400, Zalman CNPS 7000B ALCU Heatsink, 2 GB of Corsair TwinX2048-3200C2PT, EVGA GeForce 7800 GTX 256MB, 2 WD Caviar SE 16 320 GB SATA 3G & a Cooler Master RP RS-550-ACLY Power Supply. I already have a sexy plexy 716-A Burner and Audigy Sound card. What I want is for you to critique my setup and give me advice on overclocking slightly. I do a lot of multi-tasking and play games. I have never overclocked or built a computer from scatch. This is my first time. I appreciate all the help I can get. Oh..Just a small increase in the overclocking department. I want a reliable stable system. I knew about Opteron CPU but decided to go with unregistered ram. Thanks All! :D

ELGoku

Distinguished
Feb 23, 2006
You got a pretty sweet system there.

Well first of all dude, the 4400+ Thermals!

What Case are you using? Do U have Round Cables? and Artic Silver 5 is a MUST!. I'd ditch the stock fan on the processor for the CoolerMaster Dual Storm. It's cheap, and works Really well.

If your ram timings don't fail, just start messing the the Cpu Settings on FSB. start from 205 to 210 and on. if it dies onm you, ease the timing on the ram, for example CL2.5 Instead of 2, or even 3 @ higher OC. I got a 3800+ OC from 2.0Ghz to 2.6Ghz.

So my advice is just start Messing with it. but always check your thermal monitor. for a good system temp. "in my opinion" you shouldn't have over 40*c in IDLE.

Codeblue009

Distinguished
Feb 26, 2006