Question Hard disk sizes and storing backup questions

smalltech

Distinguished
Apr 10, 2009
Hi,

I do backup everyday, assuming I have Jan and Feb backup images now.

I intend to buy either one 6TB 3.5 hard disk or two 4TB 3.5 hard disk.

1. Is there any difference if I store Jan and Feb backup into one 6TB 3.5 hard disk vs if I store Jan backup into one 4TB 3.5 hard disk and Feb backup into another one 4TB 3.5 hard disk?

2. Will a 3.5 hard disk become faulty by itself if I did not use it for a long time (keep in cabinet)?

3. I might buy HGST used disk, does HGST have different types like WD black, blue, red, green, purple? I am new to HGST, what HGST type is suitable for PC use?

4. I intend to buy a used HGST 3.5 hard disk and the seller said it was used for NAS, does it mean it is continuously powered on and more likely to fail? Is it good to buy it? Here is the photo of the disk View: https://imgur.com/a/BZfn4i3

5. I am trying to save money so I am thinking it is ok to buy a used disk to store backup as it is unlikely that both the disk that store data and the disk that store backup will be faulty at the same time, is it a good idea or bad idea to use used disk to store backup? I guess used disk might fail faster.

Thanks.

Last edited:

USAFRet

Titan
The general concept is 3-2-1.

3 copies, on at least 2 different devices, at least 1 offsite or otherwise unavailable.

My 'offsite' is a couple of drives in a desk drawer at work, updated quarterly or so.

Other local backups happen daily, weekly, every other day, depending on the system.

There is no One True Way.
As long as you do it, and know how to recover.

I intend to buy a used HGST 3.5 hard disk and the seller said it was used for NAS
Don't buy used drives.
That one is already 7 years old.

Reactions: smalltech

smalltech

Distinguished
Apr 10, 2009
3 copies, on at least 2 different devices, at least 1 offsite or otherwise unavailable.