Harddisk makes a ticking sound

momentkiller

Distinguished
Feb 10, 2008
A couple of weeks ago I bought a completely new system, everything worked perfectly untill a week ago.
The Hitachi Deskstar Sata hdd that I bought began making a loud ticking sound.

At first I was only irritated by the noise, but when the ticking became more intense the system froze again and again. I was already looking for a replacement hdd but I tried one last thing. I reinstalled Windows and the ticking sound disappeared, however when I turned on the computer 10 minutes ago it started again.

I wanted to make a vid to post here but after rebooting the computer the ticking sound has disappeared again.

What is causing the ticking sound?? I know it would be best to buy a new one but as a student I don't have a lot of money to spend. So I want to make sure it's really fubar before replacing it (and no, I'm not going to smash it with a hammer to make sure ;) )

And if a replacement is needed, what sata hdd would you guys suggest I should buy?

Thanks for the help

Assuming you've loaded the latest chipset drivers and have verified the sata cable is properly connected.

Ticking sound. OS freezing.

Those sounds are usually the beginning of a hard drive completely failing. IMO, definitely snag a new hard drive soon and make a back up of any critical data ASAP.

I have had tremendous success with Western Digital and highly recommend them.

Good luck!

Yep. Hard drive ticking = soon to fail drive.
But!!! Before you completely give up on it, make sure it is not a cable.
I had what I thought was a bad drive doing the same thing, only to get a new drive, and in a week or so the same ticking on the new drive.