Jul 4, 2019
Dear friends,

I bought a new system with the following specs:

Cpu: AMD Ryzen 5 2600x (with the stock cooler)
Mobo: Asrock Fatality B450 Gaming K4
Ram: G.Skill ripjaws 16 gb DDR 4, 3200mhz
GPU: Sapphire Rx Vega 56 Pulse
PSU: Corsair TX-M 750 Watt
SSD: Crucial MX 500gb (sata III)
HDD: Toshiba 1TB (sata III)
Case: Fractal Design Meshify C

I put it all together and when I try to boot, the system powers up and after 10-15 seconds it powers down and I think I hear a clicking sound from the PSU. After 5 seconds it reboots again only to power down again. I also dont get any signal on my screen from the hdmi cable (either connecting it to the GPU or the Mobo).
I tried removing the graphics card, ssd and hdd and booting and the same happened.
This is my first build but I am pretty sure I did everything right. I checked all the connections to the PSU and they seem ok. Also RAMs have been put according to the manual on the 2nd and 4th slots.

Why do I have this problem and what can I do? Is it a hardware problem or have I overlooked something? If it is a hardware problem it will be hard for me to confirm it since i don't have another system to test each part separately.
Please help and thanks!

During POST (Power on self test) your system will interrogate hardware and if an issue arises it will halt.

One issue could be RAM training and Ryzen is picky. If there is a mismatch and post cannot determine correct SPD settings then the system will restart and attempt to set a new set of safe values. These values are not always the best when settings are on AUTO by default and you will have to manually set them in Bios. Unfortunately you will not be able to access your Bios if POST stops without completing.
Ensure your Bios is up to date.

First try with just a single RAM module in the first slot then test each RAM slot individually.
If the system boots then you will be able to access Bios to make changes for your 3200MHz OC RAM.