[SOLVED] i7-2600 in 2020 for app development, occasional gaming

ProgamerIV

Distinguished
Nov 6, 2011
Hi!

The situation is the following:

I do have quite a modern rig at home, but we're building our new house, and it's now in the stage where I occasionally want to stay there for a few days to get a few things done (painting, gardening, building the garage, etc - stuff I can get done) - but it's a real pain in the ass since it's 150 kilometres from home, I want to stay there for maybe 2 weeks at a time and not travel 300kms every few days or so from home to our new home.

The problem with that is I work as a software developer from home, and I don't want to carry my main rig around all the time.
I do have a laptop, but that's not powerful enough even to run Visual Studio and not get on my nerves with how slow it gets, and I don't plan to buy a new one.

However, I did dig around in my hardware storage (I used to repair and build PCs back in the day), and found that I have an 1155 rig basically laying around in the storage room.

What I've found:

-ASRock P67 Pro3 motherboard (big ATX monster)
-Intel Core i7-2600 CPU
-2x8GB DDR3 RAM (some Kingston units, don't know much about them but they're identical)
-ASUS R9-280X 3GB video card (this is from one of my older gaming rigs, used to love it)
-Kingston A2000 500GB NVMe SSD that I bought for a rig and never used - I guess I could buy a PCIe adapter for that?
-An older Samsung SSD 830 with 91% condition
-Lots of HDDs in good/perfect condition, mostly 500GB ones, I could put 2-3 in the rig and that'd be more than enough)
-Sh*tload of fans in various sizes, even some with LEDs
-I also have an old, but perfectly working LG 1080p 23" monitor, and a 21" even older Samsung TFT unit that also seems to work. I could use those two for this rig.

So what I don't have (and have to buy):

-Power supply
-PC Case ( I have some old scratched Cooler Master ATX case, but don't really want to use it)