Lines through screen

longnmusic

Honorable
Nov 8, 2012
Hello all, I have just put together my first PC and when I booted it up there were horizontal lines running through the entire display even at post. At first I assumed this was a driver issue so I just brushed it aside and went ahead and installed windows 7 with all these lines anyways. Once I installed windows I immediately installed the driver for the Intel HD 4000 Integrated Graphics which made things worse because in addition to the lines now my screen was flashing like a strobe light. Is this a software issue or a hardware issue? As I said before this is my first build so I have no idea where I might've messed up. Once thing that confused me a bit was when connecting the power to the mother board, there was a part by the CPU that was 4pins only. My PSU didn't have any 4pins only but it did have an 8 pin(4 + 4) so I am using half of that to power the cpu. I don't know if that could be an issue or not. Please help me, Thanks!

My hardware:
Motherboard: GIGABYTE GA-Z77-D3H LGA 1155 Intel Z77
CPU: Intel Core i5-2500K Sandy Bridge 3.3GHz LGA 1155 95W Quad-Core w/ Intel HD Graphics 3000
RAM: CORSAIR XMS3 16GB (4 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
HD: Samsung 830 series 128gb SSD
PSU: Rosewill Green Series RG630-S12 630W Continuous @40°C,80 PLUS Certified, Single 12V Rail, Active PFC "Compatible with Core i7,i5" Power Supply

I am in the process of getting a GTX 550 Ti for my gpu so this problem might go away but if its an issue with hardware I'd like to know so I can return it for a new one.