M.2 SSD on HP ML110 Server - Problems!

Status
Not open for further replies.
Jul 2, 2018
Hi,

I am fairly new to this, & we are trying to fit two Samsung 970 Pro's in a Raid 1 set-up on to an HP ML110 Gen 10 Server. But there are no M2 slots so we are having to use a riser kit which plugs in to a PCIe slot. Does anyone know whether this will allow the drives to operate via the PCIe bus, or does the fact that we (appear) to have to connect Sata leads to the cards mean that it will use the Sata bus & we will suffer significantly degraded performance?

Thanks in advance!

I'm confused about your statement. If you are connecting via a riser kit to PCI then why would SATA play a factor here? Only two things that should be used is the riser kit which would transfer data via PCI and power....

As long as SATA is not being used. You shouldn't run into the SATA bottleneck.

But yes, if you are using SATA then with m.2 you will undoubtfully hit the SATA bottleneck, this is why m.2 is directly on the mobo and doesn't go through SATA connections...

Rogue Leader

It's a trap!

This info is incorrect.

First off most likely the PCIe card is looking to draw external power through a SATA power connection, which is fine and has nothing to do with the SATA bus in the system.

Secondly M.2 Slots on motherboards can and are available in SATA. In fact when buying a motherboard you need to specifically look at the specs to see if the M.2 slot is SATA, PCIe, and then if PCIe if it supports NVMe.

Still wondering though the benefit of RAID 0 of 2 of the fastest drives available on a low clocked server. And as USAFRet says, that server may not boot from the PCIe slot, many do not. Just because you're using SATA power leads from the PSU does not mean it uses the SATA bus, being that they are PCIe drives its impossible actually.