Question Memtest86 tells me I have 32GB RAM but my BIOS thinks there's only 4GB. Where do I go from here?

Mar 11, 2023
Hello, everyone

I'm new to this forum, and for probably the same reason as many users, they've tried everything they could think of and haven't gotten results.

CPU: Ryzen 7950x
CPU cooler: Cooler Master Master Liquid ML120L
Motherboard: Asus ROG Strict X670E-I
Ram: Corsair Vengeance DDR5 5200MHz 16GB x 2
SSD/HDD: Seagate Barracuda Compute 8TB 3.5" Hard Drive
Crucial BX500 2 TB 2.5" Solid State Drive
Team Group MS30 M.2 2280 1TB SATA III TLC Internal Solid State Drive (SSD) - TM8PS7001T0C101
GPU: EVGA GeForce RTX 3090 FTW3 Ultra Gaming
PSU: Corsair RM750 - 9 months old
Chassis: Thermaltake Tower 100 - Racing Green
Monitor: 2x Sceptre 35 Inch Curved UltraWide 21: 9 LED Creative Monitor
XP-Pen Artist 24 Pro Drawing Pen Display

So, here's my problem.

I have a PC that I've been using for about 3 years, and I have upgraded a couple times when components fail. Recently my motherboard died, and I decided it would be more convenient to purchase a new motherboard, CPU, and RAM as an upgrade rather than buying the one I had and waiting a month to get it. So I purchased an Asus ROG Strict X670E-I, A Ryzen 7950X, and 32GB of G-Skill Trident Z5 (2 DIMM x 16GB). I received the parts and disassembled and reassembled my computer with the new parts.

After a couple hours of frustration, I came to terms with having received a DOA board from Amazon. So I reordered and tried again. Also, a DOA board. Decided Amazon is mistreating these boards. So giving up on Amazon, I ordered from B&H Photo. I recieved the new board and gave it another go. Powered it on, and to my relief, I got fan noise and lights.