I5 4690k
MSI z97 gaming 5
GTX 970
2x4 GB RAM
2x 1TB HDD
1 SSD 240Gb
XFX core pro 850w
Silverstone Strider Plus 600w

I have been using my PC for nearly two years without any problem (no overclocking or tweaking anything). Then one day it won't turn on, no sign of power getting in. Left it overnight to find it able to turn on again in the morning. The next day it won't turn on again after a proper shut down. Tried the paper clip test on the PSU, the fan didn't run. The weird thing is when I return the PSU to the supplier, they tested it and it worked fine.

I still suspected the power supply was the culprit (XFX core pro 850w). So I bought a new PSU, Silverstone Strider Plus 600w. The computer run fine for 2 weeks. But today my computer experience a sudden shut off in middle of use. And it won't turn on again (no boost, no sound, only a blink on mother motherboard and GPU for a fraction of second, then nothing)

What I have tried so far with my pc with 2nd psu.
- Lamp test : no problem with power socket
- Visual hardware check : no sign of any damaged cap or anything on motherboard. Neither the PSU. Every cord and wire is plugged well.
- Resetting CMOS : took out CMOS battery for couple of minutes doesn't help
- Discharging PSU : Pressing power button for 20 seconds while unplugged also doesn't help
- Paper clip test : The PSU fan doesn't run

Note : the 1st and 2nd time of this problem share common event, I'm not sure if they're related to the problem : they got a power outage a day before. Could both PSU blew up by that? But both of them still run fine till the day after.

I want to blame the PSU again but since this is a new one and the circumstances are not decisive (for example, the PC able to run after experienced power outage for some time, or I might did the paper clip test wrong. I'm sure of anything now.

What do you think? is it the motherboard or PSU? what else could be the problem? Please advise.

Thank you in advance for your opinions.

sickgeese