Need ideas for homebuild graphics setup.

gjconker

Distinguished
Jan 26, 2010
Hi all,

It’s my first post to Tom’s Hardware!

I’m a graphic designer. My current PC setup is a mashup of some of my old Gateway PC(2 CD/DVD Drives), and some homebuilt bits including a BIOSTAR: P4M900-M7 FE mobo (4 Gigs of DDR2 Ram but I don’t know how to find out more specifics on the memory) and a Pentium D (940?) processor.. My Graphics adapter is an ATI Fire-GL3600 with 256 mb. I work primarily in Photoshop, Dreamweaver and InDesign and some simple 3d (Sketchup) with mostly medium sized files. My OS is Windows 7 Pro. I have 2 IDE hard disks (250GB, 400GB) and one SATA 500gb). 500 WATT psu.

One would think that the above setup would be fine handling most of what I do, but launch iTunes, a browser, and Photoshop and I find myself under-resourced. When I look at my resource monitor, it shows 4096 MB of installed memory, but all but 1776 of it is available and 287mb is free. (I need to uninstall XP mode).

This seems to be a continual issue with PC’s. Seems every time I improve the hardware, the OS and software get more bloated and once again I’m running into performance issues. The quick fix seems change out the motherboard and CPU to one that could handle more memory but I’m on a couple deadlines and have limited funds so any words of wisdom are deeply appreciated.