New System - Opinions requested

G

Hello, I am a new registered user here, but I've been lurking around reading for a while now, trying to decide what I needed/wanted for a new computer. This will be my first computer and I was hoping to get some expert opinions on what I should do. Also, I am a college student with rather limited funds (~$900-$950), so I can't spend $500 on a video card alone. Gaming isn't my big thing, but I've got a lot of school software and video editing I can use the ram for. But here is what I'm looking at so far:

Inwin Q500 Case w/ 300W PS ($90)
Abit K7V-Raid ($150) or ASUS A7V ($140)
AMD T-Bird 900 Mhz ($200)
Micron 256MB pc133 ($140)
IBM DESKSTAR 75GXP 45.0GB ($175)
Leadtek GeForce DDR 32mb ($140)
SB Live! Value ($40 from local vendor)
Creative Labs ACS-33 Speakers ($30 from local vendor)

That puts me around $975-$1000, so I was hoping to get that down a bit. Is there another full-tower 300W case around for cheaper than the Inwin?

The Abit MB I'm not completely sold on either. I don't know for sure if I need the Raid setup (don't even know what it really is for), but the 6th PC slot would be real handy, and I think I saw that the K7V without Raid doesn't have an ATA-100 controller, is that true? I would like to have that for the hard drive. Also, how much difference is there really in performance for me when I rarely play games? Would it be much help for the video editing, or should I just save the $$$ and get the GeForce2?

Right now I'm running a HP Pavilion (it's about to get thrown out my third story window) w/ K6-2 333; 64MB ram; 6GB hard drive; ATI All-In-Wonder 8mb, and that's about all I care to know about it right now.

I already have a DVD drive and CD-rewriter I'm planning on transferring, as well as a decoder card if necessary, plus i have a friend who said he'd give me his extra floppy drive, so I think the above is all I need.

Can i get some feedback/opinions/advice on anything I've said here? Thanks in advance

G