carickw

Distinguished
Jul 31, 2009
Never overclocked before, don't really know where to get started. My motherboard ASUS M4A79 came with a couple of programs to overclock within windows, but I like a clean system so I don't want to use them. Also I wish to overclock so that my Linux install will also be able to take advantage of it. I didn't know what to look for in the BIOS, but I figured I would be able to overclock from there, no? Nothing jumped out at me while exploring. I may be going about this wrong cause I am new to this. Any links of where to get started and what risks are involved?

videl

Distinguished
Jun 26, 2009
I would recommend using the CPU multiplier (CPU Clock Ratio) for overclocking this CPU. Go little by little, 100Mhz increments. Test with prime 95 for stability and monitor the temperatures. Also don't overclock high on a stock cooler. X17 will be 3.4ghz, X17.5 will be 3.5Ghz, and X18 will be 3.6Ghz and so on...When you get to a certain speed somewhere around 3.5Ghz-3.6Ghz you will need to add the voltage for your CPU. When you add voltage add by .025v at a time until you reach the sweet spot. Repeat this until you reach the speed you want...
Here is a guide but it's kinda long...
http://www.techreaction.net/forums/showthread.php?t=367

carickw

Distinguished
Jul 31, 2009